Ireland Name Side For England Clash At U20 World Championship

Ireland U20s

Ireland U20s head coach Noel McNamara has announced his starting XV which will take on England (KO 7:30 pm) in the 5th place semi-final at the World Rugby U20 Championships on Monday. 

Ireland, who have suffered from an extensive injury list throughout this campaign, will meet England for the third time this season having defeated them already in the pool stages in addition to the opening match of this year’s U20 Six Nations.

Ireland won two of their three pool games but their heavy loss to Australia cost them a place in the overall semi-final stage but they will be determined to finish the competition on a high.

McNamara has named a front row of Michael Milne, Dylan Tierney-Martin and Charlie Ward. This will be Ward’s first start for the Ireland U20s. In the second-row, captain Charlie Ryan packs down alongside Thomas Ahern and the back-row consists of Azur Allison at number eight with Ryan Baird and Ronan Watters at blindside and openside flanker, respectively.

Munster scrum-half Craig Casey is recalled to the side and he partners his provincial colleague Ben Healy who starts at out-half. The centres are made up of David Ryan and Liam Turner. Like Ward, this will be Ryan’s first Ireland U20s start.

The back-three consists of Jake Flannery at fullback with Jonathan Wren and Aaron O’Sullivan on the wings. This will be O’Sullivan’s first cap for the Ireland U20s.

Ireland U20 v England U20 – Rosario, Monday, 17th June 2019, 3.30pm (local time) / 7.30pm (Irish time)

15. Jake Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
14. Aaron O’Sullivan (UCD/Leinster) *
13. Liam Turner (Dublin University/Leinster)
12. David Ryan (UCD/Leinster)
11. Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution/Munster)
10. Ben Healy (Garryowen/Munster)
9. Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster)
1. Michael Milne (UCD/Leinster)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians/Connacht)
3. Charlie Ward (Clontarf/Leinster)
4. Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster) Captain
5. Thomas Ahern (Shannon/Munster)
6. Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster)
7. Ronan Watters (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
8. Azur Allison (Ballymena/Ulster)


16. Declan Adamson (Clontarf/Leinster)
17. Josh Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)
18. Tom Clarkson (Dublin University/Leinster)
19. John McKee (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
20. Brian Deeny (Clontarf/Leinster)
21. Niall Murray (Buccaneers/Connacht)
22. Luke Clohessy (Shannon/Munster)

24. Rob Russell (Dublin University/Leinster)
25. Colm Reilly (Buccaneers/Connacht)
26. Cormac Foley (St.Mary’s College/Leinster)
27. Angus Kernohan (Queen’s University/Ulster)
28. Max O’Reilly (Dublin University/Leinster)

*Denotes uncapped at this level

Read More About: england rugby, England U20, ireland rugby, Ireland U20, ireland u20s

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email or on Twitter View all posts by Sean McMahon