Close sidebar

Ireland & All Blacks Name Teams For Mouth-Watering Quarter-Final

Ireland All Blacks

Ireland and the All Blacks have named their respective teams for Saturday’s mouth-watering quarter-final in Tokyo. 

Ireland’s team is as expected.

Ireland make three changes from the starting XV which beat Samoa last Saturday. Peter O’Mahony returns in place of Tadhg Beirne, Garry Ringrose comes in for the suspended Bundee Aki but plays at 13 as Robbie Henshaw moves to inside-centre from outside-centre. Rob Kearney comes back for Jordan Larmour who, like Beirne, drops to the bench.

The front-row consists of Cian Healy, Rory Best and Tadhg Furlong with Iain Henderson and James Ryan packing down in the second-row. As previously stated, O’Mahony starts at blindside where he joins Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander in the back-row.

Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton start together for the 56th time, breaking the all-time record held by Peter Stringer and Ronan O’Gara.

Ireland All Blacks

Robbie Henshaw and Garry Ringrose start in midfield with Keith Earls and Jacob Stockdale on the wings and Rob Kearney at fullback.

Ireland Team v All Blacks 

1. Cian Healy
2. Rory Best (capt.)
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Iain Henderson
5. James Ryan
6. Peter O’Mahony
7. Josh Van der Flier
8. CJ Stander
9. Conor Murray
10. Johnny Sexton
11. Jacob Stockdale
12. Robbie Henshaw
13. Garry Ringrose
14. Keith Earls
15. Rob Kearney

16. Niall Scannell
17. Dave Kilcoyne
18. Andrew Porter
19. Tadhg Beirne
20. Rhys Ruddock
21. Luke McGrath
22. Joey Carbery
23. Jordan Larmour

Steve Hansen has made three changes to the starting XV which played against Namibia in the last match. Kieran Read returns to the side in place of Shannon Frizell. Richie Mo’unga is back at fly-half instead of Jordie Barrett. Beauden Barrett replaces Ben Smith at full-back.

Beauden Barrett

Joe Moody, Codie Taylor and Nepo Laulala pack down in the front-row with Brodie Retallick and Sam Whitelock in the engine room. Ardie Savea, Sam Cane and Kieran Read form a formidable back-row partnership.

Aaron Smith and Richie Mo’unga form the half-back partnership while Anton Lienert-Brown and Jack Goodhue start in midfield.

The back-three is made up of George Bridge, Sevu Reece and Beauden Barrett.

All Blacks Team v Ireland 

1. Joe Moody
2. Codie Taylor
3. Nepo Laulala
4. Brodie Retallick
5. Samuel Whitelock
6. Ardie Savea
7. Sam Cane
8. Kieran Read (capt.)
9. Aaron Smith
10. Richie Mo’unga
11. George Bridge
12. Anton Lienert-Brown
13. Jack Goodhue
14. Sevu Reece
15. Beauden Barrett

16. Dane Coles
17. Ofa Tuungafasi
18. Angus Ta’avao
19. Scott Barrett
20. Matt Todd
21. TJ Perenara
22. Sonny Bill Williams
23. Jordie Barrett


Check out our Heineken Match Centre for every match statistic from every game for the Rugby World Cup. It’s a dream for all rugby fans.

Read More About: , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email [email protected] or on Twitter