Home Rugby Ireland Squad Announced For Olympic Qualifier In France

Ireland Squad Announced For Olympic Qualifier In France

Director of 7s Rugby Anthony Eddy has named his Ireland squad for the Colomiers 7s which acts as a qualifying tournament for the 2020 Olympic Games. 

The winner of this weekend’s tournament will secure a spot at the Tokyo Olympics while a second or third-place finish will guarantee another shot at qualification at a World Rugby Repechage next year.

Ireland have named a 13-man squad for this weekend’s tournament which includes captain Billy Dardis and experienced sevens veterans Harry McNulty, Mark Roche, Terry Kennedy and Ian Fitzpatrick.

Ireland 7s
Mark Roche

Hugo Keenan and Foster Horan both return to the squad after recovering from injuries which kept them out of action since the Hong Kong 7s where Ireland achieved qualification for next season’s HSBC Sevens World Series.

Jordan Conroy, Shane Daly, Adam Leavy, Greg O’Shea,Bryan Mollen and Jack Kelly make up the rest of the squad.

Ireland 7s
Jordan Conroy

Ireland have been drawn as second overall seeds and they have been placed in a pool alongside familiar foes Russia and Spain. The pool is completed by the presence of Ukraine.

“The season so far has had a lot of positives for this group, with success in Hong Kong and additional learning opportunities in London and Paris on the World Series but one of the key targets for this season is Olympic Qualification,” Eddy said.

Ireland Men’s 7s Squad

(2019 Rugby Europe Olympic Qualification Tournament, Stade Michel Bendicichou, Colomiers, Saturday, July 13 – Sunday, July 14):

Jordan Conroy (Buccaneers)
Shane Daly (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Billy Dardis (Terenure College) Captain
Ian Fitzpatrick (Lansdowne)
Jack Kelly (Dublin University/Leinster)
Terry Kennedy (St. Mary’s College)
Foster Horan (Lansdowne)
Adam Leavy (Lansdowne)
Hugo Keenan (UCD/Leinster)
Harry McNulty (UCD)
Bryan Mollen (Blackrock College)
Greg O’Shea (Shannon)
Mark Roche (Blackrock College)

Ireland Men’s 7s Fixtures, Pool B:

Saturday, July 13th

Ireland v Ukraine – 12.44pm (local)/11.44am (Irish time)
Ireland v Russia – 3.29pm (local)/2.29pm (Irish time)
Ireland v Spain – 6.36pm (local)/5.36pm (Irish time)

Sunday, 14th July:


All the games will be streamed live on Rugby Europe TV.


The Ireland women sevens squad are also facing into an Olympic Qualifier weekend and you can see the squad announcement here.

About Sean McMahon

Sean is Head of Pundit Arena Rugby. Contact him on Twitter here: