Close sidebar

Here’s The England Team Eddie Jones Has Named To Defeat The Wallabies On Saturday

Eddie Jones has named his matchday 23 to take on the Wallabies at Twickenham on Saturday. 

Jones has made four changes to the side that defeated Argentina 21-8 on Saturday. Owen Farrell replaces Henry Slade in the centre while in a huge boost, recent Premiership Player of the Month winner, Jonny May, has been passed fit to take up his position on the right wing.

Anthony Watson moves to fullback as Mike Brown has not been passed fit due to the head injury he picked up against Argentina. Joe Launchbury comes in for George Kruis to partner Courtney Lawes in the engine room. Lawes will earn his 60th cap for England on Saturday.

Maro Itoje has been recalled to the squad and he will take his place among the replacements or as Jones likes to put it, the ‘finishers’.

Eddie Jones said: “I have selected the strongest 23 to play Australia and we will have to be effective in everything we do this weekend to win. This is going to be a great challenge, as we know Australia have been in great form towards the end of their season.

“The players have had an extremely positive week. They have trained well and worked hard and we are all excited about going out on Saturday and playing well against a very good Australian side.”

Here is the team in full:

Starting 15

15 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby 27 caps)

14 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers 27 caps)

13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby 34 caps)

12 Owen Farrell (Saracens 52 caps)

11 Elliot Daly (Wasps 14 caps)

10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers 38 caps)

9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers 71 caps)

1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens 43 caps)

2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints 87 caps) captain

3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers 75 caps)

4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps 45 caps)

5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints 59 caps)

6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins 57 caps)

7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby 2 caps)

8 Nathan Hughes (Wasps 11 caps)


16 Jamie George (Saracens 18 caps)

17 Joe Marler (Harlequins 51 caps)

18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs 3 caps)

19 Maro Itoje (Saracens 12 caps)

20 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs 1 cap)

21 Danny Care (Harlequins 74 caps)

22 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs 8 caps)

23 Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby 3 caps)

[gravityform id=”1″ title=”true” description=”true”]

Read More About: ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email or on Twitter