Close sidebar

Five Left In The Hunt For European Player Of The Year

European Player Of The Year

The nominees for the 2019 EPCR European Player Of The Year award have been whittled down from 15 to five. 

At the end of the pool stages, fifteen players were nominated for the award and that has now been reduced to five based on public voting and the verdict of a distinguished panel of rugby experts.

Just two teams remain in the competition as reigning champions Leinster will face off against two-time winners Saracens in the final at St James Park, Newcastle on Saturday, May 11.

The five players who are still in with a shout of claiming the prize are all from the two finalists – three players from Leinster and two players from Saracens.

European Player Of The Year

EPCR European Player Of The Year Nominees

Sean Cronin (Leinster)

Tadhg Furlong (Leinster)

Alex Goode (Saracens)

Garry Ringrose (Leinster)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens)

Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong and Garry Ringrose are aiming to emulate the achievements of Leinster teammates Sean O’Brien and Rob Kearney who won the prized individual accolade in 2011 and 2012, while Saracens’ Alex Goode and Mako Vunipola are looking to follow in the footsteps of Maro Itoje and Owen Farrell, winners in 2016 and 2017 respectively.

Voting has now reopened on and the winner and recipient of the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final at St James’ Park on Saturday 11 May.

2018/19 panel of judges:

Bryan Habana (Channel 4), Chris Jones (BBC Radio 5 Live), Mathieu Lartot (France Télévisions), Emmanuel Massicard (Midi Olympique), Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), Dimitri Yachvili (beIN SPORTS).

Roll of Honour

2018 Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)
2017 Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2016  Maro Itoje (Saracens)
2015  Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
2014  Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)
2013 Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
2012 Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby)
2011 Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby)
2010 Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European club rugby)

Read More About: , , , , , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email [email protected] or on Twitter