Close sidebar

England Name Powerful Team For Clash With Argentina

England Team

England head coach Eddie Jones has named a strong team for the much-anticipated Pool C clash with Argentina on Saturday at the Tokyo Stadium. 

In total, Jones has made nine changes to the starting XV which beat the USA with only Joe Marler, George Kruis, Tom Curry, Billy Vunipola, George Ford, and Elliot Daly retaining their place.

Mako Vunipola returns to the bench for the first time since his 17-minute cameo against Ireland at Twickenham on August 24. Vunipola has not started a match since he tore a hamstring in the Champions Cup final against Leinster in May, and damaged scar tissue when he came on against Ireland, keeping him out of the World Cup to date.

Jack Nowell is also included in the matchday 23 for the first time.

England Team

“We are in Tokyo for the first time and the players are excited to be here and have had a good week’s preparation so far,” Jones said.

“We know Argentina are a very good team and our players will be ready for the game.

“Argentina is a completely different team from others we have played so far in the pool stages and are always about the physical contest. This week it’s about getting our game right, our set piece in a good place and making sure defensively we are organised and ready to find ways to score points against them.”

England Team v Argentina 

1. Joe Marler
2. Jamie George
3. Kyle Sinckler
4. Maro Itoje
5. George Kruis
6. Tom Curry
7. Sam Underhill
8. Billy Vunipola
9. Ben Youngs
10. George Ford
11. Jonny May
12. Owen Farrell (capt.)
13. Manu Tuilagi
14. Anthony Watson
15. Elliot Daly

16. Luke Cowan-Dickie
17. Mako Vunipola
18. Dan Cole
19. Courtney Lawes
20. Lewis Ludlam
21. Willi Heinz
22. Henry Slade
23. Jack Nowell

Read More About: , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email [email protected] or on Twitter