Close sidebar

England & Australia Teams Named For Quarter-Final Showdown

England Australia Teams

England and Australia have named their respective sides for Saturday’s Rugby World Cup quarter-final in Oita. 

Eddie Jones had made three changes to the team which beat Argentina in the pool stages. Mako Vunipola is selected at loose-head prop in place of Joe Marler who is among the replacements.

England Australia Teams

Courtney Lawes replaces George Kruis in the second row. Henry Slade comes in at outside-centre with Manu Tuilagi switching to 12, Owen Farrell moves to fly-half with George Ford on the bench.

England Team v Australia 

1. Mako Vunipola
2. Jamie George
3. Kyle Sinckler
4. Maro Itoje
5. Courtney Lawes
6. Tom Curry
7. Sam Underhill
8. Billy Vunipola
9. Ben Youngs
10. Owen Farrell (capt.)
11. Jonny May
12. Manu Tuilagi
13. Henry Slade
14. Anthony Watson
15. Elliot Daly

16. Luke Cowan-Dickie
17. Joe Marler
18. Dan Cole
19. George Kruis
20. Lewis Ludlam
21. Willi Heinz
22. George Ford
23. Jonathan Joseph

Meanwhile, Michael Cheika has made five changes to the team that beat Uruguay 45-10 in their last pool stage match: Allan Ala’alatoa, Michael Hooper, Will Genia, Christian Lealiifano and Reece Hodge return to the starting XV to take on England.

Jordan Petaia moves from the right-wing to the 13 shirt, to start at outside-centre. Hodge returns to the side following his suspension, due to high tackling Peceli Yato of Fiji in the Wallabies’ opening game.

England Australia Teams

Australia Team v England

1. Scott Sio
2. Tolu Latu
3. Allan Alaalatoa
4. Izack Rodda
5. Rory Arnold
6. David Pocock
7. Michael Hooper (capt.)
8. Isi Naisarani
9. Will Genia
10. Christian Lealiifano
11. Marika Koroibete
12. Samu Kerevi
13. Jordan Petaia
14. Reece Hodge
15. Kurtley Beale

16. Jordan Uelese
17. James Slipper
18. Taniela Tupou
19. Adam Coleman
20. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto
21. Nicholas White
22. Matt To’omua
23. James O’Connor


Check out our Heineken Match Centre for every match statistic from every game for the Rugby World Cup. It’s a dream for all rugby fans.

Read More About: , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email [email protected] or on Twitter