Close sidebar

Edinburgh Dominate End Of Season Guinness PRO14 Awards

PRO14 Awards

Edinburgh secured three prizes in the Guinness PRO14’s end of season awards in Dublin on Sunday night. 

The Scottish club have made huge strides this season under Richard Cockerill which saw them reach the last eight of the Champions Cup.

Bill Mata was honoured by his opponents in the Guinness PRO14 as he was named the Players’ Player of the Season. Edinburgh also saw fly-half Jaco van der Walt claim the Gilbert Golden Boot with a goal-kicking accuracy of 86.84% while the club’s retiring Scotland hooker Ross Ford was recognised for incredible longevity in the Championship as he received the Chairman’s Award.

PRO14 awards
Edinburgh’s Bill Mata

Benetton’s superb season was rewarded with head coach Kieran Crowley securing the Coach of the Season award while Adam Hastings who was voted as the Energia Next-Gen Star of the Season following in the footsteps as Jordan Larmour, Joey Carbery, Stuart Hogg and Jonny Gray.

Below is the full list of tonight’s award winners:

  • Guinness Player’s Player of the Year: Bill Mata (Edinburgh Rugby)
  • Guinness Coach of the Season: Kieran Crowley (Benetton Rugby)
  • Guinness PRO14 Chairman’s Award: Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby)
  • Energia Next-Gen Star of the Season: Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors)
  • Gilbert Golden Boot: Jaco van der Walt (Edinburgh Rugby)
  • SportPesa Top Try-scorer: Rabz Maxwane (Toyota Cheetahs)
  • Ronseal Tackle Machine: James King (Ospreys Rugby)
  • Big Red Cloud Turnover King: Olly Robinson (Cardiff Blues)
  • Dacia Iron Man: Tian Schoeman (Toyota Cheetahs)

Read More About: ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email [email protected] or on Twitter