Close sidebar

Eastmond Set For Disciplinary Hearing After Ian Madigan Tackle

Kyle Eastmond will appear before an independent disciplinary panel on Tuesday as a result of his tackle on Ian Madigan in the Leicester Tigers’ loss to the Bristol Bears at Ashton Gate on Saturday. 

The incident occurred in the 24th minute of the match with Bristol holding a slender 10-7 advantage over their opponents.

The home side were going from right to left when Madigan played a pass to Luke Morahan who had come in off his wing to join the attacking move.

Madigan was lined up by Eastmond and the inside-centre made contact with Madigan’s head with his right arm immediately after the Dubliner released the ball.

Referee Wayne Barnes took his time in analysing the incident via the Television Match Official (TMO) before coming to the conclusion that the challenge warranted a red card.

The Tigers had to play out the rest of the match with just 14 men where they succumbed to a heavy 41-10 defeat.

A statement from the RFU reads: “Eastmond has been charged for a dangerous tackle, contrary to Law 9.13. The alleged incident occurred in the match between Bristol Bears and Leicester Tigers on 1 December when the Tigers’ centre tackled Bristol’s Ian Madigan in the 25th minute of the match.”

Read More About: , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email seanmc@punditarena.com or on Twitter