Home Rugby Earls & Murray Return As Munster Name Side For PRO14 Quarter Final

Earls & Murray Return As Munster Name Side For PRO14 Quarter Final

Munster have named their side to take on Benetton in the quarter-final of the Guinness PRO14 at Thomond Park on Saturday (KO 3 pm). 

Head coach Johann van Graan has made three changes to the side which beat Connacht in Limerick last Saturday.

The good news is that Conor Murray and Keith Earls both return to the starting XV. Earls has been absent since the Champions Cup quarter-final victory over Edinburgh at Murrayfield with a thigh issue but after coming through training this week, he has been named to start on the left wing.


Murray was pulled from the starting XV after taking a knock to the head in the warm-up before last weekend’s win over Connacht but he has recovered to partner Tyler Bleyendaal in the halfbacks. Bleyendaal’s inclusion means that Joey Carbery misses out for another week having not played since he picked up a hamstring injury in the win over Edinburgh.

The final change sees Rory Scannell come in to take his regular place at inside-centre to partner Chris Farrell.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Jeremy Loughman, John Ryan, Billy Holland, Arno Botha, Alby Mathewson, JJ Hanrahan, Dan Goggin.

Benetton, who are in their first ever PRO14 playoff, have named a very strong side for their clash with Munster as Ratuva Tavuyara and Marco Zanon both return to the side.

Benetton Rugby: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Ratuva Tavuyara, 13 Marco Zanon, 12 Luca Morisi, 11 Monty Ioane, 10 Tommaso Allan (C), 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Toa Halafihi, 7 Abraham Steyn, 6 Sebastian Negri, 5 Federico Ruzza, 4 Marco Lazzaroni, 3 Marco Riccioni, 2 Luca Bigi, 1 Nicola Quaglio

Replacements: 16 Hame Faiva, 17 Derrick Appiah, 18 Tiziano Pasquali, 19 Irné Herbst, 20 Dean Budd, 21 Tito Tebaldi, 22 Antonio Rizzi, 23 Alberto Sgarbi

About Sean McMahon

Sean is Head of Pundit Arena Rugby. Contact him on Twitter here: