Home Rugby Debuts Aplenty In Leinster Squad For Pre-Season Opener

Debuts Aplenty In Leinster Squad For Pre-Season Opener

Leinster will hand out a number of debuts for their opening preseason game of the summer against Coventry on Saturday which could include Roman Salanoa, a former high school American football player from Hawaii

Salanoa plays at AIL level with Old Belvedere and he represented Leinster ‘A’ in the inaugural Cara Cup competition in Boston earlier this year.

He has been named on the bench and is in line to make his first senior appearance for the eastern province.

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen

Cian Kelleher, who made his return to Leinster from Connacht this summer, starts at fullback for Leo Cullen’s side while there are four uncapped players in the starting XV as Harry Byrne, younger brother of Ross, Rowan Osborne, Martin Moloney and Ronan Foley look set to earn their first caps.

Leinster Rugby v Coventry Rugby – Bank of Ireland Pre-Season Friendly

15. Cian Kelleher (Lansdowne FC) 7 Leinster Rugby caps
14. Adam Byrne (UCD RFC) 52
13. Gavin Mullin (UCD RFC) 2
12. Conor O’Brien (Clontarf FC) 17
11. Barry Daly (UCD RFC) 36
10. Harry Byrne (Lansdowne FC) 0
9. Rowan Osborne (Dublin University FC) 0
1. Peter Dooley (Lansdowne FC) 61
2. Rónan Kelleher (Lansdowne FC) 2
3. Vakh Abdaladze (Clontarf FC) 7
4. Ross Molony (UCD RFC) 82 CAPTAIN
5. Josh Murphy (UCD RFC) 21
6. Martin Moloney (Old Belvedere RFC) 0
7. Will Connors (UCD RFC) 5
8. Ronan Foley (UCD RFC) 0

16. James Tracy (UCD RFC) 92
17. Michael Milne (UCD RFC) 0
18. Jack Aungier (Terenure College RFC) 0
19. Ryan Baird (Dublin University FC) 1
20. Max Deegan (Lansdowne FC) 46
21. Patrick Patterson (UCD RFC) 3
22. Jimmy O’Brien (UCD RFC) 7
23. Liam Turner (Dublin University FC) 0
24. Roman Salanoa (Old Belvedere RFC) 0
25. Ronan Watters (St Mary’s College RFC) 0
26. Rory O’Loughlin (Old Belvedere RFC) 61
27. Jack Kelly (Dublin University FC) 1
28. Adam La Grue (Terenure College RFC) 0
29. Rob Russell (Dublin University FC) 0


Leinster Women’s clash with Connacht Women takes place after the men’s game in what is the opening round of this season’s extended Interprovincial Championship. 

Sene Naoupu will captain the side from the out-half position where she partners up with Ailsa Hughes at scrum-half.

There are a number of new caps set to be handed out in Ben Armstrong’s team selection as Larissa Muldoon, Grace Miller, Clodagh Dunne, Elaine Anthony and Niamh Ní Dhroma all start for their first senior appearance in a Leinster shirt.

Leinster Rugby v Connacht Rugby – Women’s Interprovincial Championship

15. Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union RFC) *
14. Megan Williams (Old Belvedere RFC)
13. Elise O’Byrne-White (Old Belvedere RFC)
12. Michelle Claffey (Blackrock College RFC)
11. Grace Miller (Old Belvedere RFC) *
10. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere RFC) CAPTAIN
9. Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union RFC)
1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union RFC)
2. Chloe Blackmore (Railway Union RFC)
3. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere RFC)
4. Clodagh Dunne (Old Belvedere RFC) *
5. Elaine Anthony (Old Belvedere RFC) *
6. Juliet Short (Railway Union RFC)
7. Niamh Ní Dhroma (Old Belvedere RFC) *
8. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College RFC)

16. Lisa Callan (Railway Union RFC) *
17. Christy Haney (Blackrock College RFC)
18. Katie O’Dwyer (Railway Union RFC)
19. Daisy Earle (Railway Union RFC) *
20. Rachel Horan (CYM RFC)
21. Molly Scuffil-McCabe (Railway Union RFC) *
22. Gemma Matthews (Old Belvedere RFC)
23. Meabh O’Brien (Suttonians RFC)

* Denotes new cap


The final game of the day will see the Leinster U19s take on Ulster in the opening game of the U19 Interprovincial Championship (KO 7.45pm).

About Sean McMahon

Sean is Head of Pundit Arena Rugby. Contact him on Twitter here: