Home Rugby Danny Cipriani Left Out Of Latest England Pre World Cup Squad

Danny Cipriani Left Out Of Latest England Pre World Cup Squad

England head coach Eddie Jones has left out Danny Cipriani in his latest World Cup training squad. 

Jones has called up 38 players for what is England’s third official World Cup training camp.

The camp will take place in Treviso, Italy in what will be warm-weather training to best prepare the players for the tough conditions which they will experience in Japan.

Sam Underhill and Anthony Watson have been included in the squad after spending last week off-site to get strength & conditioning work under their belts. Harlequins’ Joe Marchant has been called up to the squad for the first time.

However, there is no room for Danny Cipriani who was named in the original official training squad earlier this month.

Danny Cipriani
Danny Cipriani

Current European Player Of The Year, Alex Goode, continues to be overlooked from the England training squad.

Mike Brown after previously being excluded, has been named in the upcoming 12-day camp while Exeter’s Ben Moon has been left out.

“Treviso is a hard yards camp with conditions similar to Tokyo,” Jones said.

Danny Cipriani
Eddie Jones at England’s original squad announcement earlier this month which included Danny Cipriani

“Team training will be about being adaptable and off the field enjoying each other’s company.”

Jones continued:

“Selection is absolutely challenging, we have left some good players doing work at their clubs and they must be ready if called up.”


Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 85 caps)
Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 11 caps)
Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 10 caps)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 10 caps)
Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 9 caps)
Jamie George (Saracens, 37 caps)
Maro Itoje (Saracens, 27 caps)
George Kruis (Saracens, 32 caps)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 58 caps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 71 caps)
Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, uncapped)
Joe Marler (Harlequins, 59 caps)
Brad Shields (Wasps, 8 caps)
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 22 caps)
Jack Singleton (Saracens, uncapped)
Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 9 caps)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 41 caps)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 53 caps)
Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs, 17 caps)
Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons / Sale Sharks, 13 caps)


Mike Brown (Harlequins, 72 caps)
Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby, 4 caps)
Elliot Daly (Saracens, 30 caps)
Owen Farrell (Saracens, 70 caps)
George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 55 caps)
Piers Francis (Northampton Saints, 4 caps)
Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, uncapped)
Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 40 caps)
Joe Marchant (Harlequins, uncapped)
Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 45 caps)
Ruaridh McConnochie (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 33 caps)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 22 caps)
Ben Spencer (Saracens, 3 caps)
Ben Te’o (unattached, 18 caps)
Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 32 caps)
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 33 caps)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 85 caps)

About Sean McMahon

Sean is Head of Pundit Arena Rugby. Contact him on Twitter here: