Close sidebar

Beauden Barrett At Fullback As All Blacks Name Team For Boks

All Blacks Team

Steve Hansen has named his All Blacks team for Saturday’s blockbuster showdown with the Springboks on what will be the second day of the 2019 Rugby World Cup. 

Rassie Erasmus confirmed a strong side yesterday and Hansen has followed suit with a formidable looking team of his own in what should be an exhilarating encounter.

Joe Moody, Dane Coles and Nepo Laulala make up the front-row with significant impact coming from the bench in the form of Ofa Tuungafasi, Angus Ta’avao and Codie Taylor.

Sam Whitelock and Scott Barrett pack down in the second-row as Brodie Retallick continues his recovery from a dislocated shoulder he suffered in the 16-16 draw between these two sides in Wellington during the Rugby Championship.

Ardie Savea, Sam Cane and captain Kieran Read make up the back-row.

In the half-backs, the All Blacks have opted for Aaron Smith at scrum-half and Richie Mo’unga at out-half which means that Beauden Barrett switches to fullback.

All Blacks Team

In the centre, Ryan Crotty partners Anton Lienert-Brown while George Bridge and Sevu Reece start on the wings.

“Any combination of players in our squad could have justified their selection,” Hansen said.

“But in the end we believe the 23 we have selected is the right group for this opposition.

“In today’s rugby environment, you need to have the mindset that it’s not just about who starts, it’s also about what the players coming off the bench can provide. As an example, we have a great one-two punch with Dane and Codie at hooker and Aaron and TJ at halfback.”

All Blacks Team V Springboks (caps in brackets)

1. Joe Moody (41)

2. Dane Coles (64)

3. Nepo Laulala (20)

4. Samuel Whitelock (112)

5. Scott Barrett (32)

6. Ardie Savea (34)

7. Sam Cane (63)

8. Kieran Read – captain (122)

9. Aaron Smith (87)

10. Richie Mo’unga (12)

11. George Bridge (5)

12. Ryan Crotty (45)

13. Anton Lienert-Brown (38)

14. Sevu Reece (3)

15. Beauden Barrett (78)


16. Codie Taylor (45)

17. Ofa Tuungafasi (30)

18. Angus Ta’avao (8)

19. Patrick Tuipulotu (25)

20. Shannon Frizell (5)

21. TJ Perenara (59)

22. Sonny Bill Williams (53)

23. Ben Smith (80)

Read More About: , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email or on Twitter