Home Rugby Schmidt Makes Five Changes As Cronin Gets Chance

Schmidt Makes Five Changes As Cronin Gets Chance

After levelling the three-Test series at 1-1 last week, Ireland coach Joe Schmidt made two changes to the front row with Jack McGrath at loosehead prop alongside recalled hooker Sean Cronin.

Hooker Niall Scannell and prop Cian Healy, who played in Ireland’s 26-21 win in Melbourne, were named among the reserves.

In the back row, skipper Peter O’Mahony was selected at openside flanker and CJ Stander shifted to blindside to accommodate Jack Conan at number eight.

Among the backs, Robbie Henshaw moves to outside-centre with Bundee Aki named ahead of Garry Ringrose at inside-centre.

Wing Jacob Stockdale was recalled in place of Andrew Conway, who was left out of the 23-man match day squad.

There were further changes among Ireland’s reserves, with John Cooney and Joey Carbery replaced by Kieran Marmion and Ross Byrne.

Meanwhile Wallabies coach Michael Cheika brought in flanker Lukhan Tui and named Nick Phipps as scrum-half to replace Will Genia, who broke his arm in Melbourne.

David Pocock moves to number eight to accommodate Tui at blindside flanker where Cheika is looking for more physicality from his forwards pack, who were dominated in Melbourne.

NSW Waratahs forward Ned Hanigan, back from a knee injury, has been named on a reserves bench featuring a six-two forwards-backs split.

Until last week, Ireland’s last win in Australia was in 1979, when they triumphed in Brisbane and Sydney to sweep the series.

Teams (15-1)

Australia – Israel Folau; Dane Haylett-Petty, Samu Kerevi, Kurtley Beale, Marika Koroibete; Bernard Foley, Nick Phipps; David Pocock, Michael Hooper (capt), Lukhan Tui; Adam Coleman, Izack Rodda; Sekope Kepu, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, Scott Sio.

Reserves: Tolu Latu, Tom Robertson, Taniela Tupou, Rob Simmons, Ned Hanigan, Pete Samu, Joe Powell, Reece Hodge.

Ireland – Rob Kearney; Keith Earls, Robbie Henshaw, Bundee Aki, Jacob Stockdale; Johnny Sexton, Conor Murray; Jack Conan, Peter O’Mahony (capt), CJ Stander; James Ryan, Devin Toner; Tadhg Furlong, Sean Cronin, Jack McGrath.

Reserves: Niall Scannell, Cian Healy, John Ryan, Tadhg Beirne, Jordi Murphy, Kieran Marmion, Ross Byrne, Jordan Larmour.


© 1994-2018 Agence France-Presse

About Richard Barrett

Richard Barrett is a Co-Founder and Head of Content at Pundit Arena. You can follow him on Twitter via @TheBoyBarrett .