Close sidebar

Ireland Miss Out As World Rugby Player Of The Year Nominees Revealed

World Rugby have released their six-strong shortlist for the World Rugby Mens 15s Player of Year with no Irish players named among the nominees.

England are represented on the shortlist by 21-year-old flanker Tom Curry who has been instrumental in Eddie Jones’ side’s scintillating run to the World Cup final and will surely be one of the front runners to succeed last year’s winner, Johnny Sexton.

South Africa, who will contest Saturday’s final against England are the only nation with two representatives with diminutive winger Cheslin Kolbe and flanker Pieter-Steph Du Toit both shortlisted for the award.

USA hooker Joe Taufete’e has also been nominated for Player of the Year, which will be presented at an awards ceremony in Tokyo on Sunday.

The rest of the shortlist is made up of Welsh captain Alun Wyn Jones, the oldest nominee at 34 years of age, and All Blacks talisman Ardie Savea.

The shortlist for the award was selected by a panel that includes former Ireland internationals Brian O’Driscoll and Fiona Coghlan, along with Richie McCaw, John Smit, George Gregan, Maggie Alphonsi, Melodie Robinson, Fabien Galthié, Agustín Pichot, and Seilala Mapusua.

The shortlist for the women’s equivalent of the award was also announced with England dominating proceedings as Sarah Bern, Emily Scarratt and Katy Daly-McLean are all nominated.

France’s Pauline Bourdon and New Zealand’s Kendra Cocksedge round out the list.


Previous World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year Award winners:

2018 – Johnny Sexton (Ireland)
2017 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
2016 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
2015 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2014 – Brodie Retallick (New Zealand)
2013 – Kieran Read (New Zealand)
2012 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2011 – Thierry Dusautoir (France)
2010 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2009 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2008 – Shane Williams (Wales)
2007 – Bryan Habana (South Africa)
2006 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2005 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2004 – Schalk Burger (South Africa)
2003 – Jonny Wilkinson (England)
2002 – Fabien Galthié (France)
2001 – Keith Wood (Ireland)

Previous World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year Award winners:

2018 – Jessy Trémoulière (France)
2017 – Portia Woodman (New Zealand)
2016 – Sarah Hunter (England)
2015 – Kendra Cocksedge (New Zealand)
2014 – Magali Harvey (Canada)
2012 – Michaela Staniford (England)
2011 – Ruth Mitchell
2010 – Carla Hohepa (New Zealand)
2009 – Debby Hodgkinson (Australia)
2008 – Carol Isherwood (England)
2007 – Sarah Corrigan (Australia)
2006 – Maggie Alphonsi (England)
2005 – Farah Palmer (New Zealand)
2004 – Donna Kennedy (Scotland)
2003 – Kathy Flores (USA)
2002 – Monique Hirovanaa (New Zealand)
2001 – Shelley Rae (England)

Read More About: , , , , ,

Author: Oisin McQueirns

Oisin McQueirns is a digital journalist at Pundit Arena. Massive fan of Leeds United, Ric Flair and Trusting The Process. Contact him here [email protected]