Close sidebar

Ireland & Connacht Trio Included In Barbarians Squad For Clash With England

Ireland and Connacht trio Finlay Bealham, Dave Heffernan and Niyi Adeolokun have been named in the 23 man Barbarians squad for their game against England at Twickenham on Sunday.

The squad shows representation from nine different countries as the Barbarians prepare for their The Quilter Cup match which is part of a doubleheader at Twickenham with the unbeaten Barbarians women’s side facing the Red Roses first.

The side also includes England’s Joe Marler who lines up against his former national side with experienced forwards like New Zealand’s John Afoa and Liam Messam, South Africa’s Francois Louw and Australia’s James Horwill, who makes the final professional appearance of his distinguished career.

The trio’s inclusion could be in no small part to former Connacht head coach Pat Lam who will take charge of the Baa-Baas for the upcoming clash.

“We’ve got really good experience across the board and it’s great that there are nine different countries represented,” said Lam.

“We’re also delighted to have James Horwill on board — he’s had a tremendous career at the top of the game and to give him the opportunity to play his last professional game of rugby with us is pleasing.

“Overall we’ve selected experience and size up front, exciting players who can make things happen from nothing, and we have some firepower out wide.

“This is a unique team with quality players and it will only play together this one time. So as per last year, I’ll be setting out to get our preparation right on and off the field to ensure we come together as brothers in a short amount of time to hopefully be a world class team on Sunday.”

Barbarians squad


Joe Marler (Harlequins & England)
Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh)
John Afoa (Bristol Bears & New Zealand)
Finlay Bealham (Connacht & Ireland)
David Heffernan (Connacht & Ireland)
Richard Hibbard (Dragons & Wales)
James Horwill (Harlequins & Australia)
Chris Vui (Bristol Bears & Samoa)
Steven Luatua (Bristol Bears & New Zealand)
Facundo Isa (Toulon & Argentina)
Liam Messam (Toulon & New Zealand)
Viliame Mata (Edinburgh & Fiji)
Francois Louw (Bath & South Africa)


Rhys Webb (Toulon & Wales)
Rhodri Williams (Dragons & Wales)
Colin Slade (Pau & New Zealand)
Brock James (Bordeaux Begles)
Mark Atkinson (Gloucester)
Malakai Fekitoa (Toulon & New Zealand)
Filipo Nakosi (Toulon)
Taqele Naiyaravoro (Northampton Saints & Australia)
Niyi Adeolokun (Connacht & Ireland)
Charles Piutau (Bristol Bears & New Zealand)

England squad


Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks)
Ben Curry (Sale Sharks)
Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins)
Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby)
Tom Ellis (Bath Rugby)
Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks)
Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints)
Paul Hill (Northampton Saints)
Beno Obano (Bath Rugby)
Ehren Painter (Northampton Saints)
Will Spencer (Leicester Tigers)
Elliott Stooke (Bath Rugby)
Tommy Taylor (Wasps)


Josh Bassett (Wasps)
Simon Hammersley (Newcastle Falcons)
Ben Loader (London Irish)
Joe Marchant (Harlequins)
Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints)
Piers O’Conor (Bristol Bears)
Callum Sheedy (Bristol Bears)
Marcus Smith (Harlequins)
Ben White (Leicester Tigers)
Johnny Williams (Newcastle Falcons)

Read More About: , ,

Author: Oisin McQueirns

Oisin McQueirns is a digital journalist at Pundit Arena. Massive fan of Leeds United, Ric Flair and Trusting The Process. Contact him here