Home Rugby Champions Cup Fixtures Announced As Irish Provinces Learn Their Fate

Champions Cup Fixtures Announced As Irish Provinces Learn Their Fate

The full list of fixtures have been announced for this season’s Heineken Champions Cup with all four Irish provinces involved in the competition.

Last year’s beaten finalists Leinster will fancy their chances in a pool containing Lyon, Benetton and Northampton and begin this year’s tournament against the Italian side on Saturday 16th of November at 15:15 in the RDS

They also face the difficult task of back-to-back games in December against the Saints, first at Franklin’s Gardens before a return game at the Aviva a week later.

Jack Conan

Ulster were drawn in Pool 3 of the competition alongside Bath, Clermont and Harlequins with a trip to the Rec their first port of call at 13:00 on the opening Saturday.

Munster have what many perceive as this year’s pool of death with reigning champions Saracens, Racing and Ospreys with the Welsh outfit at the Liberty Stadium their first test of this year’s tournament at 17:30 on the first Saturday.

They then face a mouthwatering affair with Racing in Thomond Park at 5:30 on November 23rd.

Connacht are the only of the four provinces to begin their Champions Cup campaign on the Sunday as they take on Montpellier at 17:00 in The Sportsground, with their pool also containing Montpellier and Toulouse.

The western province will be looking to impress on their return to the Champions Cup after two years of featuring in the Challenge Cup.

About Oisin McQueirns

Oisin McQueirns is a digital journalist at Pundit Arena. Massive fan of Leeds United, Ric Flair and Trusting The Process. Contact him here oisin@punditarena.com