Home Rugby Munster & Ulster Close To Full Strength For Thomond Park Clash

Munster & Ulster Close To Full Strength For Thomond Park Clash

Both Munster and Ulster will welcome back most of their international contingent as the two provinces clash in Thomond Park on Saturday (kickoff 5.15pm)

Peter O’Mahony returns to captain Munster in the back-row where he is joined by Chris Cloete and fellow Irish international CJ Stander.

Jean Kleyn also returns to the second row alongside Billy Holland while John Ryan and Niall Scannell are back in the front row with James Cronin.

Andrew Conway is named on the wing alongside Liam Coombes with Mike Haley continuing at full-back. Chris Farrell returns at 13 to partner Rory Scannell in the midfield while JJ Hanrahan starts at out-half with Alby Mathewson given the nod at scrum-half.

munster ulster

Meanwhile, Jordi Murphy is named at openside flanker on his Ulster return where he is partnered in the back-row by Sean Reidy and Nick Timoney. Sam Carter and Alan O’Connor get the nod in the second row while Marty Moore returns from injury to take up his role in the front row alongside Jack McGrath and Rob Herring.

Youngster Angus Curtis is given the nod out-half with the experienced John Cooney continuing at scrum-half. Stuart McCloskey also returns from injury to bolster Ulster’s attack, he is joined in the midfield by luke Marshall.

Meanwhile, Jacob Stockdale returns to the Ulster starting XV where he is partnered in the backfield by Matt Faddes at full-back and Rob Lyttle on the opposite wing.

munster ulster


Munster: Mike Haley, Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Liam Coombes, JJ Hanrahan, Alby Mathewson; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Chris Cloete, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Jeremy Loughman, Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer, Fineen Wycherley, Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Murray, Tyler Bleyendaal, Arno Botha.

Ulster: Matt Faddes, Rob Lyttle, Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale, Angus Curtis, John Cooney; Jack McGrath, Rob Herring (capt), Marty Moore, Alan O’Connor, Sam Carter, Sean Reidy, Jordi Murphy, Nick Timoney.

Replacements: Adam McBurney, Eric O’Sullivan, Tom O’Toole, Kieran Treadwell, Matthew Rea, David Shanahan, Bill Johnston, Robert Baloucoune.

About Michael Corry

Sports Journalist based in Dublin. Hit me up if you have a unique story to tell. Email: michael@punditarena.com Twitter: @Corry_10 Instagram: @Corry_10