Close sidebar

Mo’unga Named At 10 For The All Blacks, Barrett Moved To 15

beauden barrett

The All Blacks have named Crusaders’ out-half, Richie Mo’unga, to start against the Springboks for Saturday’s Rugby Championship encounter. 

The decision means that two-time World Player of the Year, Beauden Barrett, will make the switch to full-back for this weekend’s South Africa test.

New Zealand scraped over the line in last week’s opening round match with Argentina on a scoreline of 20-16. Argentina had an opportunity at the death to clinch a famous victory but the All Blacks were able to keep them out.

Following that dicey encounter, Steve Hansen has decided to ring the changes with Sam Whitelock coming back into the second-row alongside Brodie Retallick with Shannon Frizell coming in at blindside flanker in place of Vaea Fifita. Matt Todd gets the nod at seven with Kieran Read captaining the side from the back of the scrum.

beauden barrett

New Zealand have named an entirely changed front-row with Joe Moody, Codie Taylor and Owen Franks all expected to start.

In the backline, Aaron Smith is named among the replacements as TJ Perenara gets a start at scrum-half. Sonny Bill Williams returns to the side at 12 with Jack Goodhue at 13.

Rieko Ioane is on the left-wing with Ben Smith moving to the right-wing to accommodate Barrett’s switch to full-back.

Meanwhile, experience number eight, Duane Vermeulen has been named to lead the Springboks this Saturday in Wellington.

Rassie Erasmus has named a much-changed side following last week’s 35-17 win over the Wallabies in Johannesburg. Last week’s captain, Eben Etzebeth in the second-row and Pieter-Steph Du Toit at loosehead prop are the only forwards retained in the starting XV while Makazole Mapimpi on the wing is the only back set to start for the second week running.

beauden barrett

Willie le Roux is named at full-back while Toulouse dangerman, Cheslin Kolbe is named on the right-wing. Handré Pollard starts at out-half alongside Faf de Klerk at nine with Damian de Allende and Lukhanyo Am named as the centre pairing.

Captain, Vermeulen is joined in the back-row by du Toit and Kwagga Smith with Franco Mostert partnering Etzebeth in the second-row. Malcolm Marx is named at hooker where he is joined by Steven Kitshoff and Frans Malherbe in the front-row.


New Zealand XV

15 Beauden Barrett, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Matt Todd, 6 Shannon Frizell, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody.


16 Dane Coles, 17 Ofa Tuungafasi, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Vaea Fifita, 20 Dalton Papalii, 21 Aaron Smith, 22 Anton Lienert-Brown, 23 George Bridge.

South Africa XV

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Duane Vermeulen (c), 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, Kwagga Smith, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Steven Kitshoff.


16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Francois Louw, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Frans Steyn, 23 Jesse Kriel.

Read More About: , , , , ,