Home Rugby U20 World Cup: All You Need To Know As Ireland Kick Off Their Campaign

U20 World Cup: All You Need To Know As Ireland Kick Off Their Campaign

Under-20 Six Nations Championship Round 1, Irish Independent Park, Cork 1/2/2019 Ireland U20's vs England U20's Ireland players celebrate Cormac Foley's try Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

The U20 Championship 2019 kicks off today in Argentina with Ireland in action in the first round against neighbours, England. 

Last year’s competition was one to forget for Noel McNamara’s side but they go into the 2019 campaign brimming with confidence following their Grand Slam win in the Six Nations earlier this year.

Ireland reached the final of the competition for the first time in 2016 when the team that included the likes of Jacob Stockdale and James Ryan lost out to England in the final on a scoreline of 45-21.

Ireland named their side for the opening clash against England yesterday and they are captained by Leinster lock, Charlie Ryan.

Here is all the information you need ahead of the kick-off of the tournament.


Who Are Ireland Playing? 

Ireland were drawn in Pool B alongside England, Australia and Italy.

Their fixtures are as follows:

Tuesday, June 4 – England v Ireland, Estadio Ateneo Inmaculada, 7.30pm Irish time.

Saturday, June 8 – Australia v Ireland, Estadio Ateneo Inmaculada, 2.30pm Irish time.

Wednesday, June 12 – Italy v Ireland, Estadio Ateneo Inmaculada, 2.30pm Irish time.

A full list of the championship fixtures can be found here.


Where Can I Watch? 

Eir Sport will be showing all games live across eir Sport 1 and 2. ITV will also have live coverage while World Rugby will also be providing a stream on their website.


How Does The Tournament Work?

The championship features 12 teams who have been divided into three pools with four teams in each. The pool stages are carried out in a round-robin series with points awarded according to the following method.

Win = 4 points

Draw = 2 points

Scoring four tries or more = 1 point

Loss by seven or less points = 1 point

Loss by more than seven points = 0 points

No show = 0 points

At the end of the pool phase, the 12 teams will be seeded based on the position in which they finished in their respective pools.

The top four seeded teams advance to the semi-finals. The next four teams down the line will compete in the 5th -8th place playoffs while the bottom four teams will decide the  9th-12th place playoffs.

The team that finishes 12th at the completion of the 2019 tournament will be relegated to the World Rugby U20 Trophy in 2020. The winning team from the World Rugby U20 Trophy 2019 will be promoted to the U20 Championship in 2020.

About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at marisa@punditarena.com or on Twitter