Close sidebar

Johnny Sexton Returns As Leinster Name Team For PRO14 Final

Johnny Sexton Leinster

Johnny Sexton has returned to the Leinster starting XV for their PRO14 final clash with Glasgow Warriors in Celtic Park on Saturday evening.

The team captain was left on the bench for the semi-final against Munster last weekend with Ross Byrne preferred at fly-half. He returns to partner Luke McGrath for the final while Byrne is named among the substitutes.

Rob Kearney has returned to full fitness and is named at full-back with Jordan Larmour moving to the right wing while James Lowe is named on the other wing. Garry Ringrose and Robbie Henshaw continue their partnership in the centre.

Devin Toner picked up a leg injury just before half-time during the 24-9 win in the RDS Arena with Scott Fardy replacing the 32-year-old and the Australian starts in the second row on Saturday alongside James Ryan.

Cian Healy, Sean Cronin and Tadhg Furlong are all named in the front while Rhys Ruddock and Jack Conan are once again joined by Josh van der Flier in the back row following his man-of-the-match display against Munster.

Sean O’Brien has failed to recover from a hip injury in time and misses out on a place in the match-day squad meaning the Tullow Tank has already played his final game in a Leinster jersey before his move to London Irish in the summer.

Kick-off in Celtic Park is 6.30pm. The game will be broadcast live on eir Sport and TG4.

Leinster: Rob Kearney; Jordan Larmour, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, James Lowe; Johnny Sexton (capt), Luke McGrath; Cian Healy, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong; Scott Fardy, James Ryan; Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan.

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Ed Byrne, Andrew Porter, Ross Molony, Max Deegan, Nick McCarthy, Ross Byrne, Rory O’Loughlin.

Referee: Nigel Owens.

Read More About: , , , , , , , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter