Home Rugby Morgan Recalled But No Cipriani in Jones’ Squad For Autumn Series

Morgan Recalled But No Cipriani in Jones’ Squad For Autumn Series

LONDON, ENGLAND - MARCH 17: England's Head Coach Eddie Jones during the pre match warm up before the NatWest Six Nations Championship match between England and Ireland at Twickenham Stadium on March 17, 2018 in London, England. (Photo by Ashley Western - MB Media via Getty Images)

England head coach, Eddie Jones, has recalled Gloucester number eight Ben Morgan for the Autumn International Series but his teammate, Danny Cipriani has been left out of the squad.

The 29-year-old last featured for England in 2015 but injuries have forced Eddie Jones to recall him to the back row.

Bath’s uncapped wing Joe Cokanasiga is one of eight uncapped players in the 36-man squad.

Dylan Hartley and Owen Farrell have been named co-captains.

Jones was hit with a number of injuries this week as Saracens confirmed that both Mako Vunipola and Nick Isiekwe will be out for six and eight weeks, respectively.


Vunipola suffered a calf tear in the clash against the Glasgow Warriors at the weekend while Isiekwe suffered an ankle injury in the same clash.


It was also announced that Chris Robshaw would be unavailable with a knee injury, as would Joe Launchbury. Billy Vunipola had already been ruled out with a broken arm.


England Squad For The Autumn Internationals


Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby), Jamie George (Saracens), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints) co-captain, Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs), Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors)*, Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby), Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby), Michael Rhodes (Saracens), Nick Schonert (Worcester Warriors), Brad Shields (Wasps), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Elliott Stooke (Bath Rugby), Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs), Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)


Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks), Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Nathan Earle (Harlequins), Owen Farrell (Saracens) co-captain, George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Alex Lozowski (Saracens), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)


England Autumn Internationals Fixtures 2018

(All kick-off times are 3pm)

England v South Africa, November 3, Twickenham Stadium.

England v New Zealand, November 10, Twickenham Stadium.

England v Japan, November 17, Twickenham Stadium.

England v Australia, November 24, Twickenham Stadium.






About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at marisa@punditarena.com or on Twitter