Home Rugby Lowe Gets The Nod As Sexton Named For Toulouse Semi-Final

Lowe Gets The Nod As Sexton Named For Toulouse Semi-Final

Leinster have named their team for the Heineken Champions Cup semi-final against Toulouse on Sunday with an injury to Jamison Gibson-Park meaning James Lowe will start. 

The New Zealander is named on the wing alongside Rob Kearney and Jordan Larmour.

Captain, Johnny Sexton, is set to make his first appearance of the year for Leinster following a quad injury sustained during the Six Nations. He will be partnered by Luke McGrath in the half-backs.

In the centre, Robbie Henshaw keeps his place from last week’s PRO14 loss to Glasgow Warriors but is joined this week by Garry Ringrose.

In the pack, only Devin Toner and Seán O’Brien are retained from last week with Cian Healy, Seán Cronin and Tadhg Furlong starting in the front row, with Toner and James Ryan behind them in the second row.

Rhys Ruddock is selected at blindside with O’Brien again at openside and finally Jack Conan at number eight.

Kick-off in the Aviva Stadium on Sunday is 3.15pm. The game will be broadcast live on Virgin Media, BT Sport, and Channel 4.

Leinster: Rob Kearney, Jordan Larmour, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, James Lowe, Johnny Sexton, Luke McGrath; Cian Healy, Seán Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, James Ryan, Rhys Ruddock, Seán O’Brien, Jack Conan.

Replacements: James Tracy, Ed Byrne, Michael Bent, Scott Fardy, Max Deegan, Hugh O’Sullivan, Ross Byrne, Rory O’Loughlin.

Referee: Wayne Barnes (Eng)

About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. She is a former reporter with Sporting Limerick and is a huge fan of the GAA. You can contact her at marisa@punditarena.com or on Twitter