Close sidebar

Carty Starts At Full-Back For Connacht As Provinces Name Teams

Jack Carty has been named at full-back for Connacht for their Heineken Champions Cup clash with Gloucester on Saturday.

Carty is part of a back three that includes Niyi Adeolokun and John Porch on the wings. Conor Fitzgerald and Caolin Blade also renew their half back partnership while Bundee Aki and Kyle Godwin start in midfield.

Captain Jarrad Butler will make his 50th appearance in a Connacht jersey and is named alongside Eoin McKeon and Paul Boyle in the back row.


Having played all 80 minutes in his last three outings, lock Quinn Roux steps out so Ultan Dillane and Joe Maksymiw are named to start in the second row while in the front row, Dave Heffernan comes back in at hooker alongside Peter McCabe and Dominic Robertson-McCoy in Connacht’s front row.

Kick-off at the Sportsground is 12.45pm.

Connacht: Jack Carty, Niyi Adeolokun, Kyle Godwin, Bundee Aki, John Porch, Conor Fitzgerald, Caolin Blade; Peter McCabe, Dave Heffernan, Dominic Robertson McCoy, Ultan Dillane, Joe Maksymiw, Eoin McKeon, Jarrad Butler (Capt), Paul Boyle.

Replacements: Shane Delahunt, Denis Buckley, Finlay Bealham, Niall Murray, Eoghan Masterson, Stephen Kerins, Tom Daly, Robin Copeland.


John Ryan is set to make his 150th appearance for Munster against Saracens at the Allianz Stadium this weekend and the prop is the only change to the side who recorded a 10-3 win in Thomond Park.

Ryan will pack down in the front row alongside James Cronin and Niall Scannell while Billy Holland and Jean Kleyn continue as the second row partnership.

Tadhg Beirne, captain Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander are once again named in the back row while Conor Murray and JJ Hanrahan remain as the first-choice half back pairing.

Mike Haley, Andrew Conway and Keith Earls are named in the back three with Rory Scannell and Chris Farrell continuing their centre partnership.

Dan Goggin and Tommy O’Donnell have been drafted into the replacements with Goggin set to make his 50th Munster appearance while Nick McCarthy is in line to make his first Champions Cup appearance for Munster.

Kick-off in Allianz Park on Saturday is 3pm.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony (C), CJ Stander.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Liam O’Connor, Stephen Archer, Fineen Wycherley, Jack O’Donoghue, Nick McCarthy, Dan Goggin, Tommy O’Donnell.


In the absence of Johnny Sexton, Scott Fardy is set to captain Leinster against Northampton in the Aviva Stadium this weekend and he is one of five changes to the starting team.

scott fardy

It’s the same back three that played last week in Franklin’s Gardens with Jordan Larmour at full back, Dave Kearney on the right wing and James Lowe on the left.

There is no change either in the centre with Robbie Henshaw and Garry Ringrose at 12 and 13 though there is a new half back partnership though with Luke McGrath and Ross Byrne starting.

In the pack, Rónan Kelleher misses out on selection through injury (hand), so James Tracy comes in at hooker, with Cian Healy at loosehead and Tadhg Furlong also starting this week at tighthead.

Fardy comes in from the start and captains the side from the second row alongside James Ryan. It’s same again in the back row with Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier and Caelan Doris all retained from the start.

Kick-off in the Aviva Stadium is 5.15pm.

Leinster: Jordan Larmour, Dave Kearney, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, James Lowe, Ross Byrne, Luke McGrath, Cian Healy, James Tracy, Tadhg Furlong, Scott Fardy, James Ryan, Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier, Calean Doris.

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Ed Byrne, Andrew Porter, Devin Toner, Max Deegan, Jamison Gibson-Park, Ciarán Frawley, Rob Kearney.


Meanwhile, the Ulster team to face Harlequins at the Twickenham Stoop was announced yesterday and you can read that here. 

Read More About: ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter