Home Rugby Late Blow For Connacht As Key Trio Replaced Ahead Of Montpellier Clash

Late Blow For Connacht As Key Trio Replaced Ahead Of Montpellier Clash

Connacht have been forced to make three late changes to their starting XV ahead of their Champions Cup opener against Montpellier with Jarrad Butler, Matt Healy and Niyi Adeolokun all sustaining injuries.

Robin Copeland, Tom Daly and John Porch have all been introduced into Andy Friend’s starting lineup with a number of other positional changes as a result.

While the extent of their injuries are not yet known, it is a major blow for the province ahead of their first outing in the Champions Cup since the 2016-2017 season.

Joe Maksymiw, Conor Fitzgerald and David Horowitz have been added to Connacht’s bench.

The Western province will be hoping to make it a clean sweep for the Irish provinces in Europe this weekend following wins for Ulster, Leinster and Munster on Saturday.

Kick-off in the Sportsground is 1pm.

Connacht: Darragh Leader, John Porch, Bundee Aki, Tom Daly, Kyle Godwin, Jack Carty, Caolin Blade; Denis Buckley, Tom McCartney, Dominic Robertson-McCoy, Cillian Gallagher, Ultan Dillane, Paul Boyle, Colby Fainga’a, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Dave Heffernan, Matthew Burke, Conor Kenny, Joe Maksymiw, Eoghan Masterson, Stephen Kerins, Conor Fitzgerald, David Horowitz.

About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at marisa@punditarena.com or on Twitter