Close sidebar

France and England dominate World Rugby’s 2021 women’s dream team

WOmen's Rugby Team of the Year

A dominant year for France and England.

French and English players have dominated the World Rugby women’s 2021 dream team, after a successful year for both countries.

Six French players have made the cut, while five English players are included. Wales, New Zealand, Italy and Canada each have one representative in the side.

England and France have undoubtedly been the best two nations in women’s international rugby this year, although the French are still ranked behind New Zealand in the official World Rugby rankings.

France have more players included, but England took home the silverware.

Although France have had six players included in the dream team, compared to England’s five, the English did get the upper hand against Les Bleus on two occasions this year.

England secured a 10-6 win against France to win this year’s Six Nations, before they beat them a second time 17-15 a week later in a test match.

The Red Roses have gone on to beat New Zealand twice, Canada and the USA since then, which extended their remarkable winning streak to 18 games.

France bounced back well from those two losses to England earlier in the year, as they hammered South Africa, before claiming two comfortable victories against New Zealand last month.

The four players nominated for World Rugby’s women’s player of the year – Zoe Aldcroft, Poppy Cleall, Caroline Boujard and Laure Sansus – have all been included in the team. The winner of that award will be named later in the week.

Check out World Rugby’s women’s 2021 dream team below.

15. Jasmine Joyce (Wales)

14. Caroline Boujard (France)

13. Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand)

12. Beatrice Rigoni (Italy)

11. Abby Dow (England)

10. Caroline Drouin (France)

9. Laure Sansus (France)

8. Poppy Cleall (England)

7. Karen Paquin (Canada)

6. Zoe Aldrcroft (England)

5. Abbie Ward (England)

4. Safi N’Diaye (France)

3. Sarah Bern (England)

2. Agathe Sochat (France)

1. Annaelle Deshayes (France)