Home Rugby Irish Provinces Name Teams For This Weekend’s Champions Cup Ties

Irish Provinces Name Teams For This Weekend’s Champions Cup Ties

The second round of fixtures in the Champions Cup takes place this weekend, and the Irish teams, including defending champions Leinster, have named their starting XVs.

The province hammered a Wasps side that have lost Christian Wade to the NFL to the tune of 52-3, and have made just one change from that side, with Joe Tomane starting his first game for Leinster in Europe.

Rhys Ruddock retains his place in the team after replacing Dan Leavy, who was injured ahead of the Wasps game.

Leinster Team:

Jordan Larmour, Joe Tomane, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, James Lowe, Johnny Sexton, Luke McGrath, Cian Healy, Seán Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, James Ryan, Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan

Replacements: James Tracy, Jack McGrath, Andrew Porter, Scott Fardy, Seán O’Brien, Nick McCarth, Ross Byrne, Rory O’Loughlin


Munster drew 10-10 with Exeter in their opening Pool 2 game, and the former champions have made four changes for the tie against Gloucester, all in the pack.

James Cronin, Rhys Marshall and John Ryan have been confirmed to start for tomorrow’s 1 p.m kickoff, while Tommy O’Donnell joins the back row.

Munster Team:

Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam; Joey Carbery, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Rhys Marshall, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Dave Kilcoyne, Stephen Archer, Billy Holland, Arno Botha, Alby Mathewson, JJ Hanrahan, Sammy Arnold.


Ulster see three new players in the starting side that defeated Leicester last time around. Marty Moore, who made his debut as a replacement in that fixture, gets a starting berth against Racing 92.

Meanwhile, Kieran Treadwell starts in the second row, and David Shanahan is the scrum-half at the injured John Cooney’s expense.

Ulster Team:

M Lowry; C Gilroy, W Addison, S McCloskey, J Stockdale; B Burns, D Shanahan A Warwick, R Best (captain), M Moore, I Henderson, K Treadwell, M Coetzee, J Murphy, N Timoney;

Replacements: A McBurney, E O’Sullivan, R Kane, A O’Connor, S Reidy, J Stewart, J McPhillips, A Kernohan.


Leinster play in Toulouse at 4:15 p.m on Sunday, and Ulster are in action at 5:30 p.m tomorrow.

About Chris Kelleher

Student whose interests lie in sports ranging from Darts to MMA, with the likes of Golf, Boxing and Soccer in between. Closet wrestling fan and a lover of sports psychology and stiff jabs.