Close sidebar

World Rugby Men’s Player Of The Year 2018 Nominees Announced

Mitsubishi Estate Series 3rd Test, Allianz Stadium, Sydney, Australia 23/6/2018 Australia vs Ireland Ireland's Johnny Sexton kicks a penalty

The nominees for the Rugby Player Of The Year 2018 award have been announced as Ireland’s Jonathan Sexton is named amongst the talented players shortlisted.

Sexton has managed to score his second nomination for the award after a stellar season that saw him guide Leinster to the Pro14 and Champions Cup titles in addition to helping Ireland to a historic Grand Slam.

There was some understandable confusion within the ranks of the Irish fans who felt that Tadhg Furlong had done enough to get a nod but out of the five players nominated, it was the All Blacks and the Springboks who shared the four other spots.

The nominees are as follows:

Jonathan Sexton

Beauden Barrett

Rieko Ioane

Faf de Klerk

Malcolm Marx

The official World Rugby Twitter account unveiled the selections with a video posted today.

The nominees for the World Rugby Women’s 15s Player Of The Year were also revealed.

Pauline Bourdon

Fiao’o Faamausili

Gaelle Hermet

Safi N’Diaye

Jessy Tremouliere

Cillian Cunningham, Pundit Arena

Read More About: , , ,

Author: Cillian Cunningham

Lead mixed martial arts writer who can be contacted at [email protected]