Ireland went down to New Zealand yesterday in Dublin, despite a remarkable performance. Joe Schmidt’s side were left to rue a host of missed chances. They were unable to register a single try, after failing to cross the line during several visits to the All Blacks’ 22.
In the first half, Ireland had a five metre scrum, which ultimately led to an Irish penalty.
Kieran Read broke from the New Zealand scrum and went around the set-piece to illegally and intentionally disrupt the Irish ball.
Many feel that due to the fact that the Irish were advancing quickly, this merited more than just the penalty which was awarded.
The question is whether Ireland would have scored a try were it not for the illegal intervention of the All Blacks number 8.
Ireland subsequently elected to take three points, rather than the seven that surely would have ensued had the referee deemed it to be a penalty try.
You can watch the incident below.
This is about as blatant as it gets.
Couldn’t understand how it wasn’t more than a penalty at time and looks even worse now. pic.twitter.com/dU0M9lzET9
— Murray Kinsella (@Murray_Kinsella) November 20, 2016
Heineken Rugby Club celebrates and rewards real supporters who make the game what it is.