Close sidebar

The Springboks take on the All Blacks in the first game of The Rugby Championship.

One of rugby’s greatest rivalries will be renewed on Saturday, as South Africa host New Zealand at Mbombela Stadium in the first round of The Rugby Championship.

The All Blacks are the defending champions, although they head into the tournament under a great deal of pressure having lost a test series to Ireland on home soil.

South Africa won their July test series against Wales, although they did suffer their first-ever defeat at home to the Welsh in the second encounter between the sides in Bloemfontein.

Springboks v All Blacks: How can I watch the game live on TV?

The match will be aired live on Saturday, August 6th on Sky Sports Action. Coverage begins at 4pm while the match kicks off at 4.05pm.

Sky Sports can also be accessed through a NOW TV subscription.

Team news.

The Springboks named their match-day squad two days early as per usual, with three changes made to the starting team that faced Wales in the third test.

Kurt-Lee Arendse will win just his second cap for South Africa having been named to start on the win in place of the injured Cheslin Kolbe, while Faf de Klerk and Malcolm Marx have also come into the starting team.

South Africa have gone with a 6/2 split between forwards and backs on the bench, with Salmaan Moerat in line to win his second cap for the Springboks.

New Zealand will travel to South Africa with a new-look coaching team, as assistant coaches John Plumtree and Brad Mooar have both been relieved of their duties, with Jason Ryan brought in to replace the former.

The All Blacks have made four changes to their starting team, with powerful winger Caleb Clarke set to win his first cap for New Zealand since 2020 on Saturday.

This is a cookie notice. You can replace this cookie notice easily using the theme options from within your WordPress control panel. It will only appear once, with acceptance of the form stored locally.