Close sidebar

England Head Coach Eddie Jones has praised the performances of Australia scrum-half Will Genia during the Wallabies recent run of form that has seen Michael Cheika’s side string back-to-back wins over South Africa and Argentia after opening round shellackings to the All Blacks at the start of the tournament.

Genia has started every game for the Wallabies during this year’s tournament and has been one of the Wallabies big bright spots in the last two games with a try assist in each of his last two games.

Australia v Argentina
(Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

The Wallabies success over the last three weeks has a big part to do with Genia’s renewed on-field partnership with Quade Cooper in the Wallabies halves.

The former Reds duo were slow to start during their on-field reunion in Wellington earlier this month, but has progressively improved with each passing game and Jones has taken notice, particularly of Genia’s performances.

“Australia has been a bit up and down but Genia has been back to form which has really made a hell of a difference for them,” Jones told Nick Heath at the England squad announcement at Twickenham.

When we play them it will be the last game of their season and they’ll be giving everything they’ve got.

The Wallabies will face South Africa at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday with Michael Cheika electing to keep the halves partnership of Will Genia and Quade Cooper with Bernard Foley remaining at inside centre.

Cheika has made just one change to the Wallabies side that defeated Argentina 36-20 in Perth two weeks ago with Melbourne Rebels captain Sean McMahon replacing the injured David Pocock who has been ruled out for the rest of the Rugby Championship with a broken hand.

Wallabies Squad to play the Springboks.

1. Scott Sio

2. Stephen Moore (c)

3. Sekope Kepu

4. Adam Coleman

5. Rob Simmons

6. Dean Mumm

7. Michael Hooper

8. Sean McMahon

9. Will Genia

10. Quade Cooper

11. Reece Hodge

12. Bernard Foley

13. Samu Kerevi

14. Dane Haylett-Petty

15. Israel Folau

16. James Hanson

17. James Slipper

18. Tom Robertson

19. Kane Douglas

20. Scott Fardy

21. Nick Phipps

22. Tevita Kuridrani

23. Sefa Naivalu*

*Potential Test debut

This is a cookie notice. You can replace this cookie notice easily using the theme options from within your WordPress control panel. It will only appear once, with acceptance of the form stored locally.