Van Gerwen Vs Cross Will Headline Opening Night Of 2018 PDC Premier League In Dublin

World number one Michael van Gerwen will kick-off the defence of his title against current world champion Rob Cross, when the PDC Premier League gets underway in Dublin on February 1.

Three-time champion Van Gerwen will be desperate to get off to a winning start and avenge his world championship semi-final defeat to Cross. However, the debuting Cross heads into his first Premier League campaign full of confidence and with increasing momentum.

The action at the 3Arena in Dublin will start with debutant Mensur Suljovic taking on the returning Simon Whitlock.

Austrian Suljovic had arguably his best year of darts in 2017, winning his first major TV title at the Champions League and climbing to number six in the world rankings. His opponent Whitlock was runner-up in this competition in 2012 but hasn’t taken part since a tenth place finish in 2014.

Double world champion, and two-time Premier League winner Gary Anderson will be next up as he takes on world number 11 Michael Smith, who finished bottom of the table in his only previous campaign in 2016.

The ever popular Dutchman, and 2014 champion, Raymond van Barneveld will be looking to turn the clock back, as he takes on Northern Irish debutant Daryl Gurney.

Gurney reached new heights in his career in 2017, rising up to fifth in the world rankings and winning his first televised event.

The final match of opening night pits world number two, and last year’s runner-up, Peter Wright against the somewhat controversial Gerwyn Price, who is the fourth player making his Premier League debut this year.

Fixtures for PDC Premier League – February 1 – 3Arena, Dublin:

Mensur Suljovic v Simon Whitlock

Gary Anderson v Michael Smith

Daryl Gurney v Raymond van Barneveld

Michael van Gerwen v Rob Cross

Peter Wright v Gerwyn Price

Visit the official PDC website for full fixtures and venue information for the first nine weeks of Premier League action, up until judgement night in Belfast on March 29.

Peter Reynolds, Pundit Arena

Read More About: 3arena, Darts, Darts Premier League, Daryl Gurney, gary anderson, Gerwyn Price, Mensur Suljovic, Michael Smith, michael van gerwen, PDC, PDC Premier League, peter wright, raymond van barneveld, rob cross, simon whitlock

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. View all posts by The PA Team