Home Other Sports Line-Up For The 2018 Darts Premier League Has Been Confirmed

Line-Up For The 2018 Darts Premier League Has Been Confirmed

The line-up for the 2018 Premier League of Darts has been confirmed, following last night’s World Championship final. The weekly Thursday night tournament, which takes place over 16 weeks, will kick off in Dublin on February 1, before travelling around Europe culminating in the finals night in London.

It will feature a stop-off in Germany for the first time, with Berlin hosting the fourth game-week.

Of course, another first will be that Phil Taylor won’t feature, after the Power brought an end to his remarkable career as he fell to Rob Cross last night.

Indeed as expected, Cross is included in a star-studded line-up, alongside three other debutants; Daryl Gurney, Mensur Suljovic and Gerwyn Price.

Last year’s finalists Michael Van Gerwyn and Peter Wright make the cut, as do ex-champions Raymond Van Barneveld and Gary Anderson.

Michael Smith and Simon Whitlock return to the competition, for the first time since 2016 and 2014 respectively.

All in all, it promises to be another cracker of a tournament.

The highest-profile omission has been that of Adrian Lewis, who has been an ever-present in the tournament since 2010. Calls were also made for James Wade, Jamie Lewis and Dimitri Van den Bergh, but most are in agreement that this is a fair selection when taking the entire 2017 season into account.

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.