Close sidebar

Ireland Name 42-Person Squad For European Athletics Championships

Athletics Ireland have named their squad for the European Athletics Championships which take place in Berlin next week, August 6th to 12th.

Among the squad are nine athletes who competed at the Rio Olympics in 2016, including former European medallists Ciara Mageean and Mark English. English won bronze in 800m event in Zurich in 2014 while Mageean also won bronze in the 1,500m competition in Amsterdam two years ago. she ran a season best of 2:02.13 for 800m at the Morton Games last week and also did the national 800m-1,500m double in Santry last week.

Leon Reid has been provisionally selected pending the outcome of IAAF transfer process. The 24-year-old – whose mother is from Belfast – was born in Bath and represented Great-Britain underage but has been seeking a transfer to Ireland for the last 18 months. In February of last year, the IAAF council froze athlete transfers in a bid to stop athlete trafficking and Reid’s application was held up as a result. That freeze was lifted last Friday and it’s hoped that the application will be finished in time for the competition.

Thomas Barr, fresh off the back of his eighth national title is also named in the side. He set a new national championship in Santry last weekend in a time of 49.56 seconds. You can read the full squad below.

Irish squad for the 2018 European Athletics Championships:

Women: Phil Healy (Bandon AC) 100m & 200m, Gina Akpe-Moses (Blackrock AC-Louth) 100m, Siofra Cleirigh Buttner (DSD AC) 800m, Claire Mooney (UCD AC) 800m, Ciara Mageean (UCD AC) 1500m, Emma Mitchell (Queens University AC) 10,000m, Kerry O’Flaherty (Newcastle & District AC) 3000m steeplechase, Michelle Finn (Leevale AC) 3000m steeplechase, Breege Connolly (North Belfast Harriers AC) marathon, Gladys Ganiel (North Belfast Harriers AC) marathon, Laura Graham (Mourne Runners AC) marathon, Lizzie Lee (Leevale AC) marathon.

4x100m relay panel: Phil Healy (Bandon AC), Gina Akpe-Moses (Blackrock-Louth), Ciara Neville (Emerald AC), Joan Healy (Bandon AC), Niamh Whelan (Ferrybank AC), Molly Scott (SLOT AC).

4x400m relay: Davicia Patterson (Beechmount Harriers AC), Claire Mooney (UCD AC), Sophie Becker (St. Joseph’s AC), Sinead Denny (DSD AC), Ciara Deely (KCH AC), Catherine McManus (DCH AC).

Men: Marcus Lawler (SLOT AC) 200m, Chris O’Donnell (North Sligo AC) 400m, Zak Curran (DSD AC) 800m, Mark English (UCD AC) 800m, Stephen Scullion (North Belfast AC) 10,000m, Ben Reynolds (North Down AC) 110m hurdles, Thomas Barr (Ferrybank AC) 400m hurdles, Adam McMullen (Crusaders AC) long Jump, Cian McManamon (Westport AC) 20km Walk, Alex Wright (Leevale AC) 20km Walk, Brendan Boyce (Finn Valley AC) 50km Walk, Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers AC) marathon, Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock AC) marathon, Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham WSAF AC) marathon, Paul Pollock (Annadale Striders AC) marathon, Kevin Seaward (St Malachy’s AC) marathon.

4x400m relay: Chris O’Donnell (North Sligo AC), Brandon Arrey (Raheny Shamrock AC), Thomas Barr (Ferrybank AC), Craig Newell (Ballymena & Antrim AC), Andrew Mellon (Crusaders AC), Dara Kervick (DSD AC).

Read More About: , , , , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at or on Twitter