Close sidebar

Cowboy Breaks UFC Win Record With Slick Victory Over Mike Perry

On Saturday night in Denver Colorado, Donald “Cowboy” Cerrone made UFC history in his victory over fellow welterweight contender “Platinum” Mike Perry.

Cerrone, fighting in his 29th bout in the UFC, defeated Perry in the first after catching him in a beautiful armbar which lead to a submission victory with just 14 seconds left in the round.

The win meant that Cerrone became the UFC’s all-time wins leader, as well as its all-time leader in finishes, in what’s been a historic career thus far.

The 35-year old then celebrated in the octagon with his infant son as his family congratulated him on the history-making victory.

Perry had started the fight promisingly, looking to build upon his win over Paul Felder at UFC 226 in July, and he secured a takedown three minutes into the round but Cerrone nicely reversed position on the canvas.

The pair then traded position with Cerrone grabbing Perry’s arm in guard, which led to him securing the armbar and ultimately the finish.

The win was a welcome one for Cerrone who had been defeated by Leon Edwards in his last fight.

Full UFC Denver Results.

Yair Rodriguez def Chan Sung Jung via KO (elbow) – Round 5, 4:59

Donald Cerrone def Mike Perry via submission (armbar) – Round 1, 4:56

Germaine de Randamie def Raquel Pennington via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Beneil Dariush def Thiago Moises via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Maycee Barber def Hannah Cifers via TKO (strikes) – Round 2, 2:01

Mike Trizano def Luis Pena via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Ashley Yoder def Amanda Cooper via split decision (29-28, 27-30, 29-28)

Bobby Moffett def Chas Skelly via TKO (D’Arce choke) – Round 2, 2:43

Davi Ramos def John Gunther via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 1, 1:57

Devonte Smith def Julian Erosa via knockout (punches) – Round 1, 0:46

Eric Shelton def Joseph Morales via split decision (29-28, 27-30, 30-27)

Mark De La Rosa def Joby Sanchez via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)

Read More About: , ,

Author: Oisin McQueirns

Oisin McQueirns is a digital journalist at Pundit Arena. Massive fan of Leeds United, Ric Flair and Trusting The Process. Contact him here [email protected]