Jon Jones was handed his first punishment at the hands of the California State Athletic Commission following the fallout of his UFC 214 title-win last year.
The California State Athletic Commission heard Jon Jones speak today and it resulted in a pretty heavy punishment for the youngest champ in the history of the UFC.
One of the key moments in today’s CSAC hearing for Jon Jones was the decision to impose a revocation of his license in the state as opposed to a suspension. Redemption seemed to be a key topic in the troubled former champion’s defence and with an eye on the future, the powers-that-be decided that forcing ‘Bones’ to reapply for a fighting license at the end of a one-year waiting period would suit his particular case.
Revoking one’s license as opposed to suspending it will mean that Jon will not see all return to normal at the end of his time of suspension and while the one-year layoff is indeed shorter than expected, he will still need to sit in front of USADA before knowing exactly how severe his punishment will be in terms of time on the sidelines.
Official: The California State Athletic Commission votes to revoke Jon Jones’ license and fine him $205,000 (40% of his disclosed purse for the second Cormier fight, plus additional $5k). He now has to go through USADA. He could re-apply for a license in March 2019, however …
— Ariel Helwani (@arielhelwani) February 27, 2018
Commissioner Martha Shen-Urquidez guessed that the sentence handed to Jones by USADA will be somewhere between 18-24 months, which would see him out of action until at least Autumn of 2019, two years on from his UFC 214 comeback win over Daniel Cormier in the night’s main-event.
Cillian Cunningham, Pundit Arena