Home Irish Football Shamrock Rovers B Triumphant In Battle For 6th

Shamrock Rovers B Triumphant In Battle For 6th

Shamrock Rovers B hosted Waterford United on Sunday afternoon in the final game of the 2014 SSE Airtricity League of Ireland.

A first half own goal from Cormac Breslin and a goal from Adam Whelan sent Rovers on their way to an easy win over their rivals. Any chance of a Blues come back was dashed just after half time when Dylan Kavanagh fired home to make it three nil.

The first real goal scoring chance of the game came on twelve minutes when Adam Whelan whipped a dangerous ball into the Waterford six yard box.  Mark Sandford fired over from close range after being put under pressure from Waterford’s Thomas Croke.

Sandford should have opened the scoring on sixteen minutes. Whelan again with a dangerous ball into the six yard box, but Kevin Burns got down well to stop a certain goal.

The Blues’ first real chance of scoring came three minutes later. Brian Nolan sending a free kick in from the left, but the ball was just too high for Croke at the back post.

Rovers were next to attack. Maxime Veuille getting forward for the home side, and whipped in a ball into the back post, Dylan Kavanagh was unlucky to get under the ball and head over the crossbar.

The deadlock was broken on twenty-nine minutes, when Sandford broke in between the Waterford back four. Vinny Sullivan and Cormac Breslin getting in each other’s way before Breslin put the ball into his own net.

The home side doubled their lead just before half time.  Evan Osam broke into the box. After the original ball was dealt with from Breslin, the follow up ball found Whelan who headed in from close range.

Shortly after the interval, Adam Whelan fed the ball down the wing to Sandford who squared it for Dylan Kavanagh, who fired home from inside the Waterford box. The home side completely dominant.

The visitors nearly pulled one back on sixty six minutes when Thomas Croke saw his header glance over from four yards after a  Andrew O’Connor corner.

From there, neither side really created any clear cut chances as the home side continued to dominate the exchanges between the two sides.

The result puts the Rovers  B ahead of Waterford who finish second from bottom in what has been a turbulent year for the southeast club.

David Pheasey, Pundit Arena.


Shamrock Rovers F.C.: Conor O’Malley (GK), Evan Osam, Maxime Veuille, Micheal Kelly (Capt.), Conor Dunne, Ryan Doolin (Jack Watson, 45), Adam Whelan (Azeez Yusseff, 61), Cian Kavanagh, Gavin Boyne, Dylan Kavanagh. Mark Sandford (Chris Lyons, 77).

Subs: Micheal Kelly (GK), Chris Lyons, Daniel Purdy,, Thomas Tiernan, Nathan Benson.

Waterford United F.C.: Kevin Burns (GK), Cormac Breslin, Andrew O’Connor ( Sami Ogayemi ,74), Thomas Croke, John Frost, Brian Nolan, Ross Fitzpatrick, Vinny Sullivan, Willie John Kiely (Daryl Power, 74), Kevin O’Connor, Mark Walsh (Ethan Boyle, 61).

Subs:  Mikie Rowe, Matthew Connor. (GK)

Referee: Ben Connolly.

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.