Close sidebar

Nominees For SSE Airtricity/SWAI Awards Announced

The nominees for the 2014 SSE Airtricity/Soccer Writers’ Association of Ireland (SWAI) flagship awards, Personality of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year, have been announced.

The prestigious awards will be presented at the SSE Airtricity/SWAI Annual Banquet in Dublin’s Conrad Hotel on Friday, January 9th 2015.

In the Personality of the Year shortlist, the six nominees are split evenly between three managers and three players, who all enjoyed memorable seasons in the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division.

St. Pat’s manager Liam Buckley is looking to win back-to-back awards after guiding the Saints to FAI Ford Cup glory this season.

Dundalk boss Stephen Kenny and Cork City’s John Caulfield are also in the running, along with three players – Christy Fagan, Patrick Hoban and Richie Towell.

For the Goalkeeper of the Year, last year’s winner Brendan Clarke is again nominated after a superb season with St Pat’s, while Dundalk’s Peter Cherrie and Cork City’s Mark McNulty are also in the mix.

Kenny makes the list after guiding Dundalk to their first league title in 19 years. The Lilywhites adopted a stylish brand of football, racking up 73 league goals.

Caulfield led his Cork City side to runners-up in the league, only losing out on the final day, while Buckley helped St. Pat’s to FAI Cup glory.

Hoban and Towell were both key men in Dundalk’s team and their influence played a huge part in the league triumph.

In the goalkeeping department, McNulty and Cherrie led the league with 16 clean sheets each, while Clarke played a big role in St. Pat’s cup win.


SSE Airtricity/SWAI Personality of the Year nominees:

Stephen Kenny (Dundalk), Christy Fagan (St Pat’s), Liam Buckley (St Pat’s), John Caulfield (Cork City), Richie Towell (Dundalk), Patrick Hoban (Dundalk).

SSE Airtricity/SWAI Goalkeeper of the Year nominees:

Mark McNulty (Cork City), Peter Cherrie (Dundalk), Brendan Clarke (St Pat’s).


The SWAI Personality of the Year award was first given out in 1961 to Dan McCaffrey.

The 2014 winner will be the 55th winner of the prestigious award. The Goalkeeper of the Year award has been going since 2002 with 13 previous winners.

Craig Colgan, Pundit Arena

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at