Close sidebar

Aaron Connolly Named In Exciting U21 Squad For Prestigious Toulon Tournament

Ireland U21

Republic of Ireland U21 boss Stephen Kenny has named a 22-man squad for the upcoming 2019 Maurice Revello Toulon Tournament.

It will be the first time since 2002 that Ireland have competed in this competition and Kenny’s side have been drawn in Group C where they will face Bahrain, China and Mexico. The tournament kicks off on June 3.

The squad features Brighton & Hove Albion striker Aaron Connolly who receives his first call-up while other first-timers include Stephen Mallon of Sheffield United, Derby County midfielder Jason Knight and Barnet midfielder Jack Taylor.

Ireland U21
Aaron Connolly

The squad includes seven players from the SSE Airtricity League, three of which coming from UCD.

“We’re extremely excited about going to the Toulon tournament and this is a fantastic opportunity for the players to express themselves in one of the most prestigious under-age international tournaments,” said U21 manager Stephen Kenny.

Ireland U21
Stephen Kenny

“We’ve never qualified for the European Championships at U-21 level so this tournament represents the highest level we’d have played at and we’re set to play Mexico, China and Bahrain’s Olympic squads, as they prepare to qualify for Tokyo 2020.

“It’s also crucially important that we continue to build momentum throughout the year after the win over Luxembourg and looking ahead to the qualifiers in October and November.

“I’m delighted to welcome into the squad the likes of Stephen Mallon, Canice Carroll, Jason Knight, Tyreke Wilson and Aaron Connolly who step up to U-21 international level for the first time, and also Jack Taylor, who comes into his first Ireland squad.”

Republic of Ireland U21 Squad

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Conor Kearns (UCD AFC).

Defenders: Darragh Leahy (Bohemians), Conor Masterson (Liverpool), Dara O’Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Liam Scales (UCD AFC), Lee O’Connor (Manchester United), Tyreke Wilson (Manchester City), Canice Carroll (Brentford).

Midfielders: Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Conor Coventry (West Ham United), Jason Knight (Derby County), Connor Ronan (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Neil Farrugia (UCD AFC), Stephen Mallon (Sheffield United), Zach Elbouzedi (Waterford), Simon Power (Norwich City), Jack Taylor (Barnet), Jamie Lennon (St. Patrick’s Athletic).

Forwards: Adam Idah (Norwich City), Aaron Drinan (Ipswich Town, on loan at Waterford), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion).

Read More About: , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email [email protected] or on Twitter