Close sidebar

Tipperary Name Much-Changed Side To Take On Clare

Share and Enjoy !

Tipperary have named a much-changed side for their Allianz National Hurling League opener against Clare in Ennis on Sunday. 

There is no place for the likes of John McGrath, Brendan Maher and John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer, and James Barry,  as Michael Ryan elects to experiment ahead of what is sure to be a hectic campaign. 

Ryan has opted for some new blood with the likes of Ger Browne, Tom Fox and Conor Kenny  all handed starts for the condensed and extremely competitive campaign ahead as well as the upcoming challenge of what is sure to be a cut-throat Munster round-robin. 

 Paul Maher of Moyne Templetuohy is selected in goal. The full-back line features Alan Flynn (Kildangan), Tomas Hamill (Moyne Templetuohy) and Donagh Maher (Burgess).  

The half-backs are Seamus Kennedy (St. Mary’s), Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), who captains the side and Tom Fox Éire Og Annacarthy. 

There is a surprise in midfield, where the returning Cathal Barratt of Holycross partners Ronan Maher.

Up front, Jason Ford is handed a new role  at full-forward, and Ger Browne of Knockavilla Donaskeigh and Patrick ‘Bonnar’ Maher man the corners. Noel McGrath is the only survivor from the wing-forward division that faced Galway in the All-Ireland semi-final. He is flanked by Conor Kenny of Borris-Ileigh and Sean Curran of Mullinahone. 

The Tipperary Senior Hurling team to face Clare is as follows:

Share and Enjoy !

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at