Close sidebar

The Senior Football And Hurling Championship Draws Have Been Made

The Senior Football and Hurling Championship draws have taken place on Thursday evening.

The Munster quarter-final football draw took place first with, last year’s finalists Kerry and Cork receiving a bye into the semis. The two rivals managed to avoid each other in that draw, potentially setting up a chance to renew their rivalry in the final.

Munster Football Quarter-Final Draw:

Clare v Limerick

Tipperary v Waterford

Semi-Final Draw:

Kerry v Clare/Limerick

Tipperary/Waterford v Cork

Net up was the Connacht football draw, where two quarter-finals had already been determined with Leitrim travelling to New York, and London hosting Sigo, with Roscommon receiving a bye into the semis.

Connacht Quarter-FInal Draw:

New York v Leitrim

London v Sligo

Mayo v Galway

Semi-Final Draw:

New York/Leitrim v Roscommon

Mayo/Galway v London/Sligo

Next up was Ulster in a completely open draw, but with Donegal and Cavan drawn to face off in a preliminary round before the quarter-finals. The winner of that tie was drawn to visit Derry in the last eight

Ulster Preliminary Round:

Donegal v Cavan

Quarter-Final Draw:

Fermanagh v Armagh

Tyrone v Monaghan

Down v Antrim

Derry v Donegal/Cavan

Semi-Final Draw:

Fermanagh/Armagh v Tyrone/Monaghan

Down/Antrim v Donegal/Cavan/Derry

Finally to the Leinster draw, in a field where Dublin have had something of a stranglehold in winning the last seven provincial championships. Jim Gavin’s side will face off against the winners of Offaly against Wicklow.

Leinster First-Round Draw:

Laois v Wexford

Louth v Carlow

Offaly v Wicklow

Quarter-Final Draw:

Laois/Wexford v Westmeath

Louth/Carlow v Kildare

Offaly/Wicklow v Dublin

Longford v Meath


Laois/Wexford/Westmeath v Louth/Carlow/Kildare

Offaly/Wicklow/Dublin v Longford/Meath

Ulster Runner-up/Round 4 WinnerUlster Runner-up/Round 4 Winner_____

Under the terms of the new Super 8 structure, the quarter-final group stage setup is as follows:

Group 1

Munster Champions
Connacht Champions
Ulster Runner-up/Round 4 Winner
Leinster Runner-up/Round 4 Winner

Group 2

Ulster Champions
Leinster Champions
Munster Runner-up/Round 4 Winner
Connacht Runner-up/Round 4 Winner

Next up was the senior hurling championship, though the introduction of a new round-robin system meant that there was no need for a live draw to take place.

However, the provincial championships will remain intact (albeit in a different format).

Munster and Leinster have five teams each in “tier one” provincial championships. These are as follows:

Munster: Cork, Limerick, Waterford, Tipperary, Clare

Leinster: Dublin, Kilkenny, Offaly, Galway, Wexford

First and second place in each of the respective provinces will face off in the final, with third place advancing to the All-Ireland quarter-final.

A second-tier, consisting of Antrim, Carlow, Kerry, Laois, Meath and Westmeath. will exist below the main provincial structures.


Check out the latest episode of The 16th Man as we hear from Pat Gilroy, Shane Dowling and Paul Kerrigan.


Read More About: , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.