Home GAA Seven Counties Represented In Hurling All Star Nominations

Seven Counties Represented In Hurling All Star Nominations

The GAA/GPA All Star nominees for hurling have been announced, and it’s no surprise that All-Ireland finalists Kilkenny and Galway dominate the 45-player selection. 

Although Kilkenny ultimately brought their 36th Liam McCarthy Cup back to the banks of the Nore, Galway match them in terms of All Star nominees, with both counties receiving 12 apiece.

With a smaller spread across each county than the football nominations, only seven sides are represented for hurling, as opposed to nine in Gaelic football.

Munster’s Waterford and Tipperary dominate the vast majority of any remaining nominations whilst Cork, Dublin and Clare receive one nomination each in the form of Séamus Harnedy, Mark Schutte and Tony Kelly.

The Player of the Year accolade is once again dominated by Kilkenny, however Tipp forward Séamus Callanan makes up the trio along with TJ Reid and Richie Hogan.

Finalists Galway are represented strongly in the Young Player of the Year category, with Jason Flynn and Cathal Mannion while Tadhg de Búrca of Waterford makes up the three nominees for the award.

The winners will be announced at the Convention Centre, Dublin on November 6.


The full list of nominees, via GAA.ie:


Colm Callanan (Galway), Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Darren Gleeson (Tipperary).


Daithí Burke (Galway), Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny), Joey Holden (Kilkenny), Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Pádraic Walsh (Kilkenny), Johnny Coen (Galway), Iarla Tannion (Galway), Pádraig Mannion (Galway), Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary), Cathal Barrett (Tipperary), James Barry (Tipperary), Noel Connors (Waterford), Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford), Shane Fives (Waterford), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Barry Coughlan (Waterford), Philip Mahony (Waterford).


Andrew Smith (Galway), David Burke (Galway), Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny), Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny), Kevin Moran (Waterford), Jamie Barron (Waterford).


Tony Kelly (Clare), Séamus Harnedy (Cork), Mark Schutte (Dublin), Cathal Mannion (Galway), Jason Flynn (Galway), Jonathan Glynn (Galway), Joe Canning (Galway), Conor Whelan (Galway), Ger Aylward (Kilkenny), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), John O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Séamus Callanan (Tipperary), Colin Dunford (Waterford), Maurice Shanahan (Waterford), Michael Walsh (Waterford).

Player of the Year

TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Séamus Callanan (Tipperary).

Young Player of the Year

Jason Flynn (Galway), Cathal Mannion (Galway), Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford).


Rob Lyons, Pundit Arena

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.