Close sidebar

Mayo Vs Tipperary: Preview And Team News

GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship Quarter-Final, Croke Park, Dublin 31/7/2016 Galway vs Tipperary Tipperary's Philip Austin and Kevin O'Halloran celebrate at the final whistle Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Share and Enjoy !

Tipperary take on Mayo in their first All-Ireland Football Championship semi-final since 1935 this Sunday in Croke Park at 3:30pm. 

Mayo come into the game as strong favourites as they continue their chase for All-Ireland success, which has eluded them since 1951.

Tipperary haven’t reached the final stage since 1920 – the year the Premier county last won an All-Ireland in senior football.

Mayo who have eased their way into this championship following a shock exit from the Connacht Championship at the hands of Galway will make just one change to their starting 15 for Sunday’s clash.

Manager Stephen Rochford has introduced Kevin Keane in place of Alan Dillon in the full-back line.

However, Tipperary have remained unchanged as manager Liam Kearns looks set to keep faith in the same starting line up that produced the shock of the summer by dumping out the tribesmen three weekends ago.

GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship Quarter-Final, Croke Park, Dublin 31/7/2016 Galway vs Tipperary Tipp manager Liam Kearns with Peter Acheson at the end of the game Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Donall Farmer

The last times the two sides met in championship was in 2002 during the qualifiers. On that occasion Mayo progressed to the last eight following a four-point victory.

The opening 15 minutes will be crucial for Tipperary as it will be vital to see how well the the likes of Aidan O’Shea along with Cillian and Diarmuid O’Connor are man-marked.

As Mayo have been gathering momentum in this year’s championship so has their All Star half-back Lee Keegan, whose runs from deep could trouble Tipp if he is not marshalled well.

If Tipperary limit the impact of these players they can attempt to settle into the game and begin to use their strengths such as running from midfield.

The forward runs of Peter Acheson and Bill Maher will try unhinge Mayo’s game plan and ultimately set up their own talismen in Michael Quinlivan, Conor Sweeney and Philip Austin.

Mayo team

1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites) 2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore) 3. Kevin Keane (Westport) 4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis) 5. Lee Keegan (Westport) 6. Colm Boyle (Davitts) 7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels) 8. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy) 9. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe) 10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore) 11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy) 12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber) 13. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole) 14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen) 15. Cillian O’Connor (captain) (Ballintubber)

Tipperary team

1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash) 2. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan) 3. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers) 4. Ciarán Mc Donald (Aherlow) 5. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash) 6. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers) 7. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule) 8. Peter Acheson (Capt.) (Moyle Rovers) 9. George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers) 10. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle) 11. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials) 12. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty) 13. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe) 14. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen) 15. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)

(Hat tip: RTÉ Sport)

William Dunne, Pundit Arena

Share and Enjoy !

Read More About: , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at