Close sidebar

Power Ranking The Teams Still In The Hunt For The Munster Club Hurling Championship

There are just seven teams left in the hunt for the Munster club SHC and we already know will represent three of the five counties competing.

Na Piarsaigh were emphatic winners over Kilmallock in the Limerick final, even though they only had five points to spare at the final whistle. Two late goals from the 2014 Munster champions ensured they avoided a hammering but it was a convincing performance from 2016 All-Ireland champions Na Piarsaigh all the same.

In Tipperary, Thurles Sarsfields won another county championship and will represent the Premier County after their win over Borris-Ileigh.

Blackrock will be the Cork side involved. They face Imokilly in the Cork SHC but as their opponents are a divisional team, they cannot compete in the provincial competition. The Rockies travel to Limerick to face Na Piarsaigh in the semi-final.

The Clare final between Clooney-Quin and Sixmilebridge was a draw so they have to replay and the Waterford final between De La Salle and Ballygunner is down for decision this weekend.

Kerry champions Ballyduff in compete in the Munster Intermediate Championship.

With some of the best teams in the country still in the hunt, here are our Munster club hurling power rankings.


7. Clooney-Quin

Did Clooney-Quin miss their big chance against Sixmilebridge at the weekend?

Going into the decider in Cusack Park Ennis against 1/6 favourites, Clooney-Quin showed no fear and came so close to securing a second title – and a first since 1942.

Having beaten highly-rated Clonlara and Eire Og, Ennis to reach the decider, last year’s Senior B champions will not be fazed at having another crack at the favourites.

Peter Duggan, who scored a late free to earn the replay, hit 0-09 for Clooney-Quin and will need to be on form again if they are to win a first title in 75 years.


6. Blackrock

The Rockies have already secured their berth in the Munster semi-final despite having not won the Cork title. This is because their final opponents Imokilly are a divisional team representing east Cork.

While they will desperately want to make history and win the first SHC final in the new Pairc Ui Chaoimh, regardless of the result, they will face Na Piarsaigh for a spot in the provincial final.

Cork u-21 star Michael O’Halloran was the hero in the last four scoring a late winner against Na Piarsaigh (the Cork version) and Blackrock will also be hoping for big performances from fellow Rebel u-21 John Cashman if they are to win the county title or do well in Munster.


5. De La Salle

De La Salle will feel confident going into the Waterford final – as they have turned heads in their run to the Deise decider.

With Hurler of the Year candidate Kevin Moran in flying form – he scored 1-03 in the semi-final, the famous club have every chance.

Should they overcome the defending champions, they will play Thurles Sars in the Munster quarter-final.

De La Salle also have Jake Dillon and John Mullane in their ranks.


4. Sixmilebridge

Having failed to win against Clooney-Quin the first day, the ‘Bridge will be looking to make amends when the sides meet in the replay.

The fact that the Clare champions last year (Ballyea) went all the way to Croke Park, securing victory in the Banner county is no mean feat.

Jamie Shanahan, Seandna Morey, Shane Golden and the ageless Niall Gilligan are the big names on the Sixmilebridge team.


3. Ballygunner

Ballygunner will look to retain the Waterford SHC crown when they face De La Salle on Sunday. Waterford has seen an intense club schedule in the month or so as the county championship was more or less dormant during the Deise’s run the All-Ireland final.

Ballygunner will look to Stephen O’Keeffe, Philip Mahony and Pauric Mahony for inspiration as they bid to win a 16th Waterford title.


2. Thurles Sarsfields

An exceptional club side on paper, Thurles haven’t lit up the provincial competition in recent seasons.

Having won the last four Tipp SHCs, they have only a single Munster final appearance in that time.

They could be in for a repeat of their 2016 quarter-final win over Ballygunner, should they win the Waterford Championship – the only side Sars have beaten in the last three years in Munster.

That said, the Mahers, Pa Bourke and Lar Corbett in their ranks, they can beat anyone on their day.


1. Na Piarsaigh

Limerick champions Na Piarsaigh were awesome in the county final win over Kilmallock. With a host of well-known names, they will be tough to beat.

They are unbeaten in the Munster Championship having won the title all three times they have gotten out of Limerick since 2010.

The Blues are a side littered with talent with the likes of Shane Dowling, Kevin Downes, Peter Casey and Alan Dempsey all in the side – and that’s not to mention Adrian Breen who scored 0-06 in the county final win over Kilmallock.

Joel Slattery, Pundit Arena



Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.