Close sidebar

Galway Pair & Limerick Star Nominated For Hurler Of The Year

Limerick’s Cian Lynch and Galway pair Joe Canning and Padraic Mannion have been nominated for 2018 Hurler of the Year. 

Canning is aiming to retain his 2017 title and would be the first hurler to win the honour in two successive years.

While this is Canning’s third nomination, it is the first time for both Mannion and Lynch, with the later aiming to be the first Limerick player to win the award.

On August 19, Limerick dethroned Galway to win the Liam McCarthy Cup in one of the most exciting Championships in years, and Lynch was instrumental in his side’s success. Canning, meanwhile, scored 2-78 in this year’s Championship and Mannion was the standout player for Galway at wingback, winning PA’s vote for Hurler of the Year.

Limerick players dominated the nominations for All-Stars. The nominees were decided by a committee made up of GAA media and chaired by GAA President John Horan. The award for Best Hurler 2018 as well as the All-Stars will be voted on exclusively by inter-county players.

In the young hurler of the year category, Cork pair Mark Coleman and Darragh Fitzgibbon, as well as Limerick’s Kyle Hayes, were all nominated.

This year’s All-Star awards take place on Friday 2 November in Dublin’s Convention Centre and will be screened live by RTÉ TV.

Read More About: , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.