Close sidebar

Minor Hurler And Footballer Of The Year Announced At Inaugural All-Star Awards

Share and Enjoy !

For the first time, 2017 sees the inter-county minor stars of the year recognised for their outstanding displays throughout the year with All-Star awards. 

A long standing tradition at senior, the All-Star awards have been adopted to the minor grade and many feel this is an initiative which was long overdue. Every summer young hurlers and footballers across the country provide endless entertainment in thrilling battles in pursuit of glory for their county.

It is often the case that minor matches are the most exciting in a season and this year was no different.

While Kerry romped home to a comfortable three All-Ireland titles in a row, proving much too powerful a force for Derry in the final, Galway were victorious in the small ball, playing their part in an historic day for their county with a win over a gallant Cork team preceding their senior’s famous triumph.

There were some sublime individual performances throughout the summer by a number of youngsters. They were rewarded for such with their awards at today’s banquet, sponsored by Electric Ireland, in Croke Park.

The hurling selection went as follows:

Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Hurling Team of the Year

1. Darrach Fahy: Galway (Ardrahan)
2. Caimin Killeen: Galway (Loughrea)
3. Sean O’Leary Hayes: Cork (Midleton)
4. Darren Morrissey: Galway (Sarsfields)
5. Aidan McCarthy: Clare (Inagh-Kilnamona)
6. James Keating: Cork (Kildorrery)
7. Lee Gannon: Dublin (Whitehall Colmcilles)
8. Daire Connery: Cork (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Conor Fahey: Galway (Padraig Pearses)
10. Brian Roche: Cork (Bride Rovers)
11. Sean Currie: Dublin (Na Fianna)
12. Adrian Mullen: Kilkenny (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
13. Sean Bleahane: Galway (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
14. Jack Canning: Galway (Portumna)
15. Brian Turnbull: Cork (Douglas)

Switching codes, the football outfit is littered with Kingdom talent, unsurprisingly.

Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Football Team of the Year

1. Deividas Uosis (Kerry, Dingle)
2. Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne (Dublin, Cuala)
3. Conor McCluskey (Derry, Magherafelt)
4. Cian Gammell (Kerry, Killarney Legion)
5. Michael Potts (Kerry, Dr Crokes)
6. Padraig McGrogan (Derry, Newbridge)
7. Niall Donohue (Kerry, Firies)
8. Barry Mahony (Kerry, St.Senan’s)
9. Oisin McWilliams (Derry, Swatragh)
10.Ross McGarry (Dublin, Ballyboden St Enda’s)
11. David Clifford (Kerry, Fossa)
12. Donal O’Sullivan (Kerry, Kilgarvan)
13. Oisin Pierson (Cavan, Gowna)
14. Lorcan McWilliams (Derry, Swatragh)
15. Fiachra Clifford (Kerry, Laune Rangers)

Also announced at this afternoon’s ceremony was the Minor Hurler of The Year and Minor Footballer of The Year.

And the winners were…

There can be no disputing that this pair of class acts are fully deserving of this recognition.


Share and Enjoy !

Read More About: , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at