Close sidebar

Michael Ryan Drops Big Name Ahead Of Dublin Clash

Allianz Hurling League Division 1A, Pairc Ui Rinn, Co. Cork 26/3/2017 Cork vs Tipperary Tipperary manager Michael Ryan Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

During the week, Eoin Kelly predicted that Michael Ryan may drop some big names this weekend. The Tipp boss has done just that by making two changes, although it’s not the alteration many expected. Dangerous forward Noel McGrath has been left out of the side.

The Premier have struggled massively for form recently. After trouncing Wexford in this year’s league semi-final, the wheels have come off the Tipp bandwagon in devastating fashion.

Their form book currently shows a 16-point defeat at the hands of Galway, a shock loss to Cork and a less than impressive victory over Westmeath.

These defeats have heaped pressure on boss Michael Ryan. Many have called for changes, and now Ryan has responded with two alterations to his starting line-up.

GAA All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Semi-Final 15/8/2010 Waterford vs Tipperary Tipperary's Noel McGrath celebrates Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

Noel McGrath and Niall O’Meara have lost their places to both Jason Forde and John McGrath respectively. However, under-pressure Seamus Callanan keeps his place.

The Premier boss will hope that these changes may finally spring some life into the All-Ireland champions.

In Dublin they face a stern test, however, it is a game that they are expected to win. Should they get over the line against Ger Cunningham’s Dubs, then Micahel Ryan’s side will be in the All-Ireland quarter-final where they will play one of the beaten provincial finalists.

The Tipperary team lines out as follows.

1. Daragh Mooney – Eire Óg Annacarty-Donohill

2. Donagh Maher – Burgess

3. Tomás Hamill – Moyne-Templetuohy

4. James Barry – Upperchurch-Drombane

5. Joe O’Dwyer – Killenaule

6. Ronan Maher – Thurles Sarsfields

7. Padraic Maher (Capt.) – Thurles Sarsfields

8. Brendan Maher – Borris-Ileigh

9. Michael Breen – Ballina

10. Jason Forde – Silvermines

11. Patrick Maher – Lorrha-Dorrha

12. Dan McCormack – Borris-Ileigh

13. John O’Dwyer – Killenaule

14. Seamus Callanan – Drom & Inch

15. John McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney

Kevin Daly, Pundit Arena


Listen to this week’s episode of The 16th Man where we look ahead to this weekend’s action. We also have reaction from the latest round of hurling qualifiers with Brian Cody, John Kiely and Ger Cunningham.

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.