Close sidebar

Mayo Name Side For All-Ireland Final Replay Against Dublin


Mayo manager Stephen Rochford has named his side to take on Dublin in the All-Ireland football final. The two sides played out an intriguing draw a fortnight ago, with Cillian O’Connor’s late late show meaning that they must do it all over again.

The Connacht side are bidding for their first All-Ireland title since 1951, while the Dubs are bidding for their first successful defence of the Sam Maguire Cup since 1977.

While it was Mayo who had to dig deep to secure the draw, perhaps they feel like they should have won the game last time out, having scored two own-goals in the first half. Dublin led by five at the break, but the men from the west kept battling and few can deny that the draw was a deserved result in the end.

Rochford has named his team for the replay, and hopes will be high that this can be the side that will bring the All-Ireland title west of the Shannon and into Mayo for the first time since 1951.

1.   David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
2.   Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3.   Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
4.   Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
5.   Lee Keegan (Westport)
6.   Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7.   Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)
8.   Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)
9.   Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)
13. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
15. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber, captain).


Make sure to listen to this week’s episode of Pundit Arena GAA’s weekly podcast, The 16th Man.

Read More About: , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.