Close sidebar

Limerick Boss Kiely Drops Seven From Panel Ahead Of Championship

Bord Gais Energy Munster Under 21 Hurling Championship Final, Cusack Park, Ennis, Co. Clare 30/7/2015.Clare vs Limerick.Clare's of Limerick.Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Limerick manager John Kiely has cut his panel ahead of the championship as preparation intensifies now that the 2017 National Hurling League is over. 

The Treaty manager has dropped seven players from his extended panel in the aftermath of their league campaign. Kiely’s side were beaten soundly in the semi-final by Galway, who eventually romped to victory over All-Ireland champions Tipperary in the final.

The seven players cut from the championship panel are as follows: Seanie Tobin, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, John Fitzgibbon, Seanie and Kevin O’Brien, David McCarthy and Kevin Downes.

Downes, who has featured in Limerick’s championship outfit dating back to 2011, is still in the process of rehabilitating a torn cruciate which he suffered last July while on football duty for his club. Fitzgibbon featured as recently as the April 16th semi-final loss to the Tribesmen, coming on as a second half substitute.

Seánie Tobin and Seánie O’Brien have championship experience for the Shannonsiders where as La Touche Cosgrave and McCarthy were on the under-21 All-Ireland-winning team of 2015.

Limerick are now gearing towards the summer with their Munster semi-final clash with Clare on June 4 the sole focus.

The 31-man Limerick senior hurling panel for the 2017 championship in full:

Declan Hannon – Ahane
Dan Morrissey – Ahane
Tom Morrissey – Ahane
Richie McCarthy – Blackrock
Paul Browne – Bruff
Sean Finn – Bruff
Richie English – Doon
Pat Ryan – Doon
Darragh O’Donovan – Doon
Nicky Quaid – Effin
James Ryan (Captain) – Garyspillane 
Kyle Hayes – Kildimo/Pallaskenry
Gavin O’Mahony – Kilmallock
Barry Hennessy – Kilmallock
Graeme Mulcahy – Kilmallock
Tom Condon – Knockaderry
Seamus Hickey – Murroe/Boher
Alan Dempsey – Na Piarsaigh
Shane Dowling – Na Piarsaigh
Ronan Lynch – Na Piarsaigh
Michael Casey – Na Piarsaigh
Peter Casey – Na Piarsaigh
David Dempsey – Na Piarsaigh
William O’Donoghue – Na Piarsaigh
Colin Ryan – Pallasgreen
Diarmaid Byrnes – Patrickswell
Cian Lynch – Patrickswell
Aaron Gillane – Patrickswell
Barry Nash – South Liberties
Gearóid Hegarty – St. Patrick’s
Stephen Cahill – Tournafulla

Aaron Ward, Pundit Arena

Read More About: , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at