Close sidebar

Former All-Star Returns To Kilkenny Starting XV While Waterford And Tipp Make Numerous Changes

Former All-Star Ger Aylward is named to make his first start of the 2018 NHL campaign as Brian Cody names his starting XV for his side’s clash with Wexford. Both Waterford and Tipperary have named sides with a number of changes.

Having won his first and only All-Star in a wonderful breakthrough year in 2015, Ger Aylward has been plagued with injuries ever since.

Aylward suffered from the dreaded torn ACL curse which caused him to miss the 2016 season. He did return in 2017 only to suffer further injuries and set-backs.

Since then Brian Cody has opted to be more cautious with the Glenmore native, however is prepared to take the chance this Sunday.

While it’s good news for Aylward, there is no starting place once again for his club and county mate Eoin Murphy.

Murphy is widely rated as the best goalkeeper in the country at the minute by many analysts, however is now missing his second game in a row.

Instead, Darren Brennan will man the square for a second consecutive game having performed well versus Tipperary. Padraig Walsh returns at full-back which releases Joey Holden to his more comfortable corner-back slot. Martin Keoghan will also look to regain his strong league form at wing forward.

While Kilkenny should find themselves in a quarter final, they will need a result to guarantee qualification.

Both Tipperary and Waterford meanwhile have named a number of changes.

Waterford have got little to play for this weekend with a relegation play-off all but guaranteed at this stage. There are starts for Ian O’Regan, Ian Kenny, Kieran Bennett, Mark O’ Brien, Stephen Bennett and Patrick Curran, while veteran ‘Brick’ Walsh also returns.

For Tipp, Michael Ryan has made six changes, including the return of UL trio Barry Heffernan, Jason Forde and John McGrath fresh off their Fitzgibbon Cup triumph.

The teams in full are as follows:


  1. Darren Brennan
  2. Joey Holden
  3. Padraig Walsh
  4. Paddy Deegan
  5. Conor Delaney
  6. Cillian Buckley
  7. Enda Morrissey
  8. James Maher
  9. Richie Leahy
  10. Martin Keoghan
  11. TJ Reid
  12. Pat Reid
  13. John Donnelly
  14. Walter Walsh
  15. Ger Aylward


  1. Brian Hogan
  2. Alan Flynn
  3. Sean O’ Brien
  4. Donagh Maher
  5. Barry Heffernan
  6. Padraig Maher
  7. Ronan Maher
  8. Brendan Maher
  9. Cathal Barrett
  10. Sean Curran
  11. Billy McCarthy
  12. Patrick Maher
  13. Michael Breen
  14. Jason Forde
  15. John McGrath


  • Ian O’Regan
  • Shane Fives
  • Barry Coughlan
  • Ian Kenny
  • Tadhg de Burca
  • Austin Gleeson
  • Kieran Bennett
  • Mark O’ Brien
  • Conor Gleeson
  • Kevin Moran
  • Stephen Bennett
  • DJ Foran
  • Michael Walsh
  • Mikey Kearney
  • Patrick Curran

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.